Johanna H. Meijer#

Johanna H. Meijer
Membership Number:5901
Membership type:ORDINARY
Affiliated section(s):EARTH & COSMIC SCIENCES
Main Country of Residence:THE NETHERLANDS

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2021 Dutch Chair Bioclock Consortium
  • 2020 Elected Annual “Ambassador of the Night”, Initiative of the Dutch Nature and Environment Federation, aiming to reduce light pollution for the benefit of biodiversity
  • 2007 - present Professor and Head of Neurophysiology, Dept. Cell and Chemical Biology, Leiden University Medical Center (LUMC), Leiden, The Netherlands
  • 2015 - present Board member, National Research Agenda (NWA) for Complexity Research (Grip on Complexity), Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) with the aim to establish a cross-discipline cluster for Complexity Research
  • 2013 - 2019 Visiting Professor Oxford University, Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institute, Dept. of Ophthalmology,Oxford University, Oxford, UK
  • 2012 - 2019 Content Development and Coordinator, Annual Interdisciplinary Honours Courses, LUMC
  • 2015 - 2018 Board member, Life Sciences, Lorentz Center (Center for (inter)national conferences and workshops), Leiden, The Netherlands
  • 2011 - 2014 Board member (LUMC representative) for content development of Honours education program, Leiden University
  • 2008 - 2011 Co-founder and Organizer, “Vitaal” (LUMC Network for Female Scientists and Clinicians)
  • 2001 - 2007 Associate Professor, Department of Physiology, LUMC
  • 1992 - 2001 Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology, LUMC

Fields of Scholarship
  • Systems biology and complexity theory; emergent properties
  • Improving health by strengthening clock function; small molecules, exercise, brain stimulation
  • Disease as a result of clock disturbances (sleep disturbances, metabolic syndrome, depression, cancer-related fatigue)
  • Nocturnal light pollution and biodiversity
  • Field research and population dynamics
  • Aging
  • Clinical: Improvement of clinical practice by environmental cycles at neonatal and intensive care units
  • Light effects on the human and animal clock
  • Chronopharmacology: optimizing time of drug application
  • Neuronal network organization of the circadian clock

Honours and Awards
  • 2014 - presentElected Member of the Koninklijke Hollandse Maatschappij der Wetenschappen (KHMW; Royal Dutch Society of Sciences)
  • 2020 NWA-ORC Grant, (Dutch research grant to enable academic research on societally relevant questions) Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) Coordinator, €10M
  • 2019 ERC Advanced Investigator Grant: “The biological clock of day-active mammals”.
  • 2013 - 2019 Honorary visiting professorship Oxford University, Oxford, United Kingdom
  • 2016 Aschoff and Honma Prize in Biological Rhythm Research (most prestigious international prize in the circadian research field, awarded biannually; second ever female awardee; International selection committee chaired by Dr. Takao Kondo.
  • 2016 Scientific member of the Organisations for Social Partners in Hospitals in the Netherlands; StAZ (non-academic hospitals) and SoFoKleS (Academic Medical Centers). Provided scientific input for app for nursing staff to deal with rotating shift work
  • 2015 Board member, National Research Agenda (NWA) Complexity cluster; successfully raised €19.5M for Dutch Complexity Research
  • 2015 Named Ariens Kappers Lecture at the European Biological Rhythms Society, Manchester, UK
  • 2013 - 2015 Elected Member at Large of the board of the Society for Biological Rhythm Research, USA.
  • 1999 Best Teacher Award for the period 1994 - 1999 in Biopharmaceutical Sciences (Faculty of Natural Sciences, Leiden University)
  • 1993 Aschoff’s Rule (prize for eminent contributions in chronobiology supporting the interdisciplinary spirit of the field), received by the previous Aschoff’s rule prize winner, Nobel prize winner Jeffrey Hall
  • 1989 - 1992 Fellowship of the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW), a prestigious postdoc fellowship for promising young scientists
  • 1989 PhD, cum laude, University of Leiden

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-7) was last changed on Tuesday, 7. March 2023, 18:08 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by