Helmuth Möhwald#

Sadly, this member passed away.
Membership Number:3021
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GERMANY

Helmuth Möhwald passed away March 27, 2018.

Positions Held
  • Since 2014 Consultant with CEA Marcoule
  • Since 2014 Director (em.) and Consultant with Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces (Department of Biomaterials)
  • Since 1995 Honorary Professor, (University of Potsdam)
  • 1993 - 2014 Director and Scientific Member, (Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam)
  • 1987 - 1993 Chair (C4) in Physical Chemistry, (University of Mainz)
  • 1981 - 1987 Associate Professor (C3) in Experimental Physics (Biophysics), (TU München)
  • 1978 - 1981 Scientific Co-Worker, (Dornier-System, Friedrichshafen

Fields of Scholarship
  • Biomimetic Systems: Structure of Complex Interfaces (amphiphiles, peptides, proteins, polymers, clusters, particles; Polymer (protein)/Lipid Interactions; Processes at Surfaces of Model Membranes
  • Chemistry and Physics in Confined Space: Structure Transitions (phase transitions and separations, crystallization and growth, swelling); Encapsulation and Release; Sonochemistry
  • Dynamics at Interfaces: Molecular Motion (translational, rotational); Electron/Energy Transfer; Molecular Exchange

Honours and Awards
  • 2014 Honorary Professor at the Chinese Academy of Sciences (Institute of Process Engineering)
  • 2014 Elyuhar-Goldschmidt Award of the Royal Spanish Chemical Society
  • 2014 Langmuir Lectureship Award of the American Chemical Society
  • 2012 Member of the Academy of Europe
  • 2010 BP Visiting Lecturer 2010, Cambridge Univ.,UK
  • 2009 Wolfgang Ostwald Price of the German Colloid Society
  • 2008 Honorary Doctorate of the University Montpellier, France
  • 2007 Overbeek Medal of the European Colloid and Interface Society
  • 2007 Highly Cited Chemist according to ISI
  • 2007 Prix-Gay-Lussac, French Ministry of Research and Technology in collaboration with the Alexander Humboldt Foundation
  • 2006 Honorary Professor at the the Chinese Academy of Sciences (Institute of Chemistry)
  • 2004 Corresponding member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • 2002 Eli Burstein Lecture, Philadelphia
  • 2002 Founder’s Lecture, London
  • 2002 Lectureship Award of the Japanese Colloid Society, Sendai
  • 2000 Vannegard Lecture, Gothenburg
  • 2000 Chaire de Paris
  • 1998 Raphael-Eduard-Liesegang Award of the German Colloid Society
  • 1979 Physics Award of the German Physical Society

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-4) was last changed on Sunday, 1. May 2022, 16:55 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by