Martin Lohse#

Martin Lohse
Membership Number:3644
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GERMANY

Present and Previous Positions

  • Since 2009 Vice President for Research, University of Würzburg
  • Since 2003 Director Graduate Schools University of Würzburg
  • since 1993 Professor for Pharmacology and Toxicology, University Wuerzburg, Germany
  • 1990-1993 Head of working group, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, University Munich, Max-Planck-Institute for Biochemistry, Martinsried
  • 1990 Assistant Professor, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Duke University, Durham, USA
  • 1988-1989 Research Associate, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Duke University, Durham, USA (Prof. R.J. Lefkowitz)
  • 1983-1988 Scientific Assistant, Institutes for Pharmacology, Universities Bonn (1983) and Heidelberg (1983-1988; Prof. U. Schwabe)

Fields of Scholarship
  • Physiology of receptors
  • Pharmacology of receptors
  • Molecular biology of receptor function, intracellular signal transduction and its retroactive effect on receptors in terms of desensitization
  • Advanced fluorescence microscopy of intact cells and of receptor signaling
  • Receptors of the adrenergic system and other G-protein-coupled receptors
  • Role of receptors in the heart

Honours and Awards
  • 2012 Svedberg-Lecturer University Uppsala, Sweden
  • 2012 Professorship of the Vallee Foundation, Harvard Medical School
  • 2010 Jacob-Henle-Medal, Georg-August-University Goettingen
  • 2009 Ariens Award of the Dutch Pharmacological Society
  • 2008 ERC Advanced Investigator Grant, TOPAS
  • 2007 Research Achievement Award of the International Society for Heart Research (ISHR)
  • 2006 Bavarian Order of Merit
  • 2004 Member of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts
  • 2002 German Federal Cross of Merit, First Class
  • 2000 Ernst-Jung-Prize for Medicine
  • 2000 Member of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 1999 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Prize by the German Research Foundation
  • 1998 Member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences
  • 1997 Chaire P. Dumont (Université Louvain)
  • 1996 Wilhelm-Vaillant-Prize
  • 1993 Rudolf-Thauer-Prize of the German Society for Cardiology and Cardiovascular Research
  • 1991 Research Prize of the German Federal Ministry of Health
  • 1990 Heisenberg-Fellowship of the German Research Foundation
  • 1987 Claudius-Galenus-Prize
  • 1986 Fritz-Külz-Prize of the German Society for Pharmacology

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-9) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by