Salomon Langer#

Salomon Langer
Membership Number:956
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:ISRAEL

Present and Previous Positions
  • 1999 - 2005 he was Vice President for Drug Discovery, Compugen Ltd
  • 1977 - 1999 Research Director and President of R&D of Synthelabo in Paris (now Sanofi)
  • 1976 Head of the Department of Pharmacology at the Wellcome Research Laboratories in Beckenham, Kent, UK
  • 1969 - 1976 Director of the Institute for Pharmacological Research, Argentina

Fields of Scholarship
  • Mechanisms involving denervation supersensitivity
  • Pre-synaptic autoreceptors for DA, 5HT, ACh, GABA and glutamate

Honours and Awards
  • 1962 Rockefeller Foundation Fellowship
  • 1976 Guggenheim Fellowship for research in cardiovascular pharmacology
  • 1977 Gaddum Memorial Lecture Award by the British Pharmacological Society
  • 1980 G.E. Brown Memorial Lecture of the American Heart Association
  • 1981 First International Prize of the Anna-Monika Foundation (Dortmund, West Germany) for research in the field of endogenous depression
  • 1986 Pythagoras Prize in Pharmacologyl,Mediterranea University of Reggio Calabria, Calabria, Italy
  • 1991 Otto Krayer Award in Pharmacology, presented by ASPET (American Society of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics)
  • 1991 Ciba Award in Hypertension, presented by the Council for High Blood Pressure of the American Heart Association, USA
  • 1993 Eli Lilly Award in Neuroscience from the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology(ECNP)
  • 1999 Lieber Prize in Schizophrenia presented by the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression (NARSAD), USA
  • 2000 ASPET Award of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics
  • 2002 Julius Axelrod Award Medal for research in the field of Catecholamines (ASPET)
  • 2009 Mark Nickerson Memorial Lecture at McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • 2009 Inaugural Norman Weiner Memorial Award by the International College of Neurophychopharmacology (CINP)
  • 2010 Pioneers in Psychopharmacology Award by the in International College of Neurophsychopharmacology (CINP)
  • 1974 President of the Latin American Society of Pharmacology (ALF)
  • 1989 - 1992 President of the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ECNP)
  • 1991 - 1998 Vice-President of the International College of Neurophsychopharmacology (CINP)
  • 1991 - 1997 Member of the Executive Committee of the World Federation of Societies of Biological Psychiatry (WFSPB)
  • 2002 - 2006 Treasurer and member of the Executive Committee of IUPHAR
  • 2006 - 2010 First Vice President of IUPHAR

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last changed on Thursday, 21. April 2022, 09:03 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by