Kurt Lambeck#

Kurt Lambeck
Membership Number:1902
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:AUSTRALIA

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2006-2010 President, Australian Academy of Science
  • since 2007 Emeritus Professor, Australian National University
  • 1977-2007 Professor of Geophysics, Research School of Earth Sciences, The Australian National University
  • 1984-1993 and 1998 Director, Research School of Earth Sciences, The Australian National University
  • 1973-1977 Professeur Associé, Departement des Sciences de la Terre, University of Paris VII, and Institut de Physique du Globe, University of Paris VI. France
  • 1970-1973 Directeur Scientifique, Groupe de Recherches de Geodesie Spatiale, Observatoire de Paris, France
  • 1967-1970 Geodesist, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
  • 1967 D.Phil., University of Oxford. Thesis: Precise geodetic position determination with the use of artificial satellites

Fields of Scholarship
  • Tectonics
  • Geology
  • Geodynamics
  • Geodesy
  • Glaciology
  • Palaeoclimatology
  • Geophysics

Honours and Awards
  • 1976 Macelwane Medal, American Geophysical Union
  • 1976 Fellow, American Geophysical Union
  • 1984 Fellow, Australian Academy of Science
  • 1987 Honorary Member, European Geophysical Society
  • 1989 Sir Harold Jeffreys Lecturer, Royal Astronomical Society. This is the senior lecture in geophysics awarded biennially by the Royal Astronomical Society
  • 1993 Charles A. Whitten Medal, American Geophysical Union
  • 1993 Foreign Member, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 1993 F.C. Donders Professorship, University of Utrecht, Netherlands
  • 1994 Doctor of Engineering honoris causa, National Technical University of Athens
  • 1994 Foreign Member, Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • 1994 Fellow, Royal Society of London
  • 1995 Jaeger Medal, Australian Academy of Science
  • 1996 Antiquity Prize, British journal for prehistory and archaeology
  • 1997 Alfred Wegener Medal, European Union of Geosciences
  • 1999 Foreign Member, Academia Europaea
  • 1999 Doctor of Science honoris causa, University of New South Wales
  • 2001 Tage Erlander Professorship, Swedish Research Council
  • 2001 Prix George Lemaître, Université catholique de Louvain
  • 2003 Australian Federation Medal
  • 2004 Elected Associate of the Royal Astronomical Society
  • 2004 Japan Society for Promotion of Science Award for Eminent Scientist
  • 2005 Foreign Member, Académie des Sciences, Institut de France
  • 2007 Honorary Professor, Graduate University of the Chinese Academy of Science
  • 2009 Foreign Member, US National Academy of Sciences
  • 2012 Balzan Prize
  • 2013 Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur
  • 2013 Wollaston MedalLambeck, the highest award granted by the Geological Society of London

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-16) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Nowak Aleksandra
  • operated by