Gerard Jaouen#

Gerard Jaouen
Error: Image file ''does not exist!
Membership Number:3323
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:FRANCE

Present and Previous Positions

  • Since 2010 Director of the bioorganometallic chemistry team in the Charles Friedel Department
  • Since 1983 Professor, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Paris
  • 1984-2009 Director of a mixed Laboratory CNRS-ENSCP
  • 2001-04, 2009-10 (9 months altogether) LMU, Munich
  • 1981, April, 1984,86,87,88,89,91, July Visiting Scientist, McGill University
  • 1981, May-Dec Associate Professor, Mc Master University
  • 1973, Oct-74, Sept Research Associate, University Chemical Laboratory (The Lord Jack Lewis) Cambridge
  • 1976-83 Director of Research CNRS
  • 1970-76 Chargé de Recherche CNRS

Fields of Scholarship
  • Use of organometallic in organic synthesis, particularly the arene chromium tricarbonyl series
  • Development of a multidisciplinary field, called bioorganometallic chemistry, dedicated to the synthesis and study of biologically-interesting organometallic complexes

Honours and Awards
  • 2012 Fellow of EURACS
  • 2011 “Future directions in organometallic chemistry”, Organometallics, 2011, 30, 20-27. Invited review
  • 2009 Special issue of J. Organomet. Chem. (694, March 15) dedicated to G. Jaouen and highlighting the founding role played by him for the birth of the field. See also Chem. Soc. Rev., 2009, 38, 391-401 (list of the ten key dates in transition metal organometallic chemistry)
  • 2006 “Chevalier dans l’ordre de la Légion d’Honneur” (promoted by the Minister of Research and Universities)
  • 2005 Wheeler Lecturer, University College Dublin
  • 2004 Elsevier Bioorganometallic Chemistry Award (Zürich)
  • 2003 J.T. Donald Lecturer, Mc Gill University
  • 2003 RCS Centenary Medal (U.K.)
  • 2002 Pioneer Award (Amer. Inst. Chem.) (Boston)
  • 2001 Gay-Lussac von Humboldt Award for Munich and Gottingen
  • 1997 Elected by an international Committee to the “Institut Universitaire de France” (chair of bioorganometallic chemistry).
  • 1996 Prize from the “Académie des Sciences” (Jean Reynaud Prize)
  • 1975 Prize from the French Chemical Society, Organic Chemistry Division

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-6) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by