Peter Holzer#

Peter Holzer
Membership Number:6927
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:AUSTRIA

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2018 - 2027 Chair, Ombuds Committee for Good Scientific Practice, Medical University of Graz
  • 2012 - 2020 Dean of Doctoral Studies, Medical University of Graz
  • 2008 - present Professor of Experimental Neurogastroenterology (Professor emeritus since October 2016), Medical University of Graz
  • 1994 - 1998 Chairman, European Neuropeptide Club
  • 1994 - 1998 Secretary, IUPHAR Section of Gastrointestinal Pharmacology
  • 1993 - 2008 University Professor by title (Neuropharmacology), University of Graz (1993 - 2003), Medical University of Graz (2004 - 2008)
  • 1989 Max Kade Foundation Fellow, University of California, Los Angeles, USA (1 year)
  • 1985 - 1993 University Docent (Neuropharmacology), University of Graz
  • 1980 British Council Scholar, University of Cambridge, UK (one academic year)
  • 1977 - 1985 Assistant Professor (Pharmacology), University of Graz

Fields of Scholarship
  • Potential role of the gastrointestinal microbiota in nutrition-related brain dysfunction
  • Neurogenic inflammation and its mediators
  • Translational models in pharmacology and neuroscience
  • Communication between gastrointestinal tract and brain via neuronal, endocrine and immune pathways
  • Analysis of the opioid system in the gastrointestinal tract
  • Capsaicin-sensitive neurons in gastric mucosal blood flow and protection of the gastric mucosa
  • Neuropeptides
  • Gastric acid induced signalling to the brain mediated by vagal afferent neurons
  • Neuropharmacological analysis of the effect of peripheral immune activation

Honours and Awards
  • 2021 Ring of Honour, Medical University of Graz
  • 2020 Brain, Behavior, and Immunity Impact Award, International Psychoneuroimmunology Research Society, USA
  • 2014 Fellow of the British Pharmacological Society
  • 2012 Honorary Member of the Hungarian Society for Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology
  • 2008 Research Prize of the Austrian Pain Society
  • 2006 Masters Award, American Gastroenterological Association, USA
  • 2006 Grand Decoration of Honour for Services to the Republic of Austria
  • 2003 Highly Cited Author in Pharmacology, ISI Thomson, USA
  • 2003 Medal of Pioneers, Polish Physiological Society
  • 2003 Miklos Jancsó Prize, University of Szeged, Hungary
  • 2002 Honorary Member, Societa di Medicina e Scienze Naturali di Parma, Italy
  • 2001 Societas Physiologorum Polonorum Medal, Polish Physiological Society
  • 2001 Research Prize of the Province of Styria, Austria
  • 1997Josef Krainer Prize for Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology, Austria
  • 1994 Research Prize of the Austrian Society of Rheumatology
  • 1990 Carl von Rokitansky Prize of the Austrian Society of Pathology
  • 1988 Sandoz Prize for Medicine, Austria
  • 1988 C.A. Ewald Prize of the German Society for Gastroenterology, Digestive and Metabolic Diseases
  • 1982 Prize of the Theodor Körner Foundation, Austria
  • 1978 Promotio sub auspiciis presidentis rei publicae (Doctoral graduation with a Ring of Honour by the Federal President of the Republic of Austria)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-7) was last changed on Friday, 10. May 2024, 18:37 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by