Kenneth David Maclean Harris#

Kenneth David Maclean Harris
Membership Number:3650
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:UNITED KINGDOM

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2003 – present Distinguished Research Professor, Cardiff University, Wales [also Head of Physical Chemistry (since 2013) and Head of Materials Chemistry (2003–2012)]
  • 1995 – 2003 Professor of Structural Chemistry, University of Birmingham, England
  • 1993 – 1995 Lecturer in Physical Chemistry, University College London, England
  • 1989 – 1993 Lecturer in Physical Chemistry, University of St. Andrews, Scotland (this position was taken up in February 1989 directly after the PhD degree)
  • Nuffield Foundation Science Research Fellowship (1995/96) and several appointments as Visiting Professor at institutions in Japan, France, Spain and Taiwan

Fields of Scholarship
  • Physical Chemistry of Solids
  • Development and application of new strategies and techniques for structure determination from powder X-ray diffraction data
  • Fundamentals of crystallization processes and polymorphism
  • Aperiodic materials (incommensurate materials and quasicrystals)
  • Solid-state NMR spectroscopy, particularly the development of new techniques for in-situ studies of chemical processes
  • Fundamentals of solid inclusion compounds: incommensurate structures and dynamic properties
  • Controlling crystal growth and transport processes in solid inclusion compounds
  • Structural design of organic materials ("crystal engineering")
  • Molecular motion, disorder and phase transitions in crystalline solids
  • Fundamentals and applications of X-ray dichroism and X-ray birefringence

Honours and Awards
  • 2011 Elected Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales (FLSW)
  • 2008 Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (FRSE)
  • 2007/8 Tilden Medal (Royal Society of Chemistry)
  • 2001 Structural Chemistry Medal (Royal Society of Chemistry)
  • 1999 Corday-Morgan Medal (Royal Society of Chemistry)
  • 1997 Philips Prize in Physical Crystallography (British Crystallographic Association and Institute of Physics)
  • 1996 Marlow Medal (Royal Society of Chemistry)
  • 1991 Meldola Medal (Royal Society of Chemistry)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-6) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by