Peter Hänggi#

Peter Hanggi
Membership Number:2444
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GERMANY

Present and Previous Positions
  • May 2019 - present Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. emeritus
  • June 1986 - April 2019 Full Professor (Ordinarius, C4), University of Augsburg (Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Physik I)
  • Sept. 1983 - Sept. 1987 Associate Professor, Polytechnic Institute of New York (with tenure), New York
  • Sept. 1980 - Sept. 1983 Assistant Professor of Physics, Polytechnic Institute of New York, New York
  • May 1979 - Sept. 1980 Postgraduate Research Associate, University of California, San Diego
  • May 1978 - May 1979 Visiting Professor, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • April 1977 - April 1978 Research Associate, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Jan. 1977 - April 1977 Research Associate, University of Basel, Switzerland

Fields of Scholarship
  • Brownian motors and relativistic Brownian motion and Relativistic Thermodynamics
  • Stochastic phenomena: /Brownian motors/Stochastic Resonance
  • Quantum information processing
  • Driven Quantum Transport/Floquet engieneering
  • Control of quantum transport
  • Quantum Thermodynamics
  • Nonlinear dynamics
  • Theoretical physics – statistical physics
  • Physical biology
  • Dissipative quantum systems
  • Molecular electronics

Honours and Awards
  • 1970 Jacottet-Kung Prize, Basel, Switzerland
  • 1977 Janggen-Pohn Prize, St. Gallen, Switzerland
  • 1977 Max-Geldner Prize, Basel, Switzerland
  • 1988 Fellow of the American Physical Society
  • Sept. 1994 - Nov. 2009 Member of the Board of the German Physical Society (DPG)
  • 1995 Nicolás Cabrera Professorship, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
  • Dec. 1997 - Dec. 2009 Board member of the regional section of the German Physical Society (Regionalverband Bayern e. V. der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft)
  • March 1998 Michael Visiting Professorship of the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
  • 1998 Fellow of the JSPS (Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science) at the Institute for Fundamental Chemistry, Kyoto, Japan
  • 1999 Fellow of the JSPS (Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science) at the Institute for Fundamental Chemistry, Kyoto, Japan Fellow of the Institute of Physics (UK) and Chartered Physicist (CPhys)
  • 2000 - 2003 Chair of the division of "Dynamics and Statistical Physics" of the German Physical Society
  • 2000 - 2003 Member of the Advisory Council “Dresdner Herbstseminar”
  • 2000 - 2005 Member of the DPG committee "Future of Scientific Publishing"
  • 2001 - 2007 Elected member of the Board of the Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Division of the European Physical Society (EPS)
  • 2001 - present Elected external member of the MPI-PKS Dresden
  • 2001 - present Elected Scientific member of the Max-Planck-society
  • 2002 Humboldt Honorary Research Award of the Foundation for Polish Science (Fundacja na Rzecz Nauki Polskiej)
  • 2002 Extraordinary member of CeNS - Center for NanoScience
  • 2003 Eminent Scientist Award - RIKEN
  • 2003 Elected member of the National Academy of Sciences LEOPOLDINA
  • May 2003 Evaluator for the program “Ramon y Cajal”, Spain
  • 2004 Board member of the Krzyzowa Initiative for Quantum Information European Research Network July 30, 2004 Institute of Physics Chartered Scientist Award (CSciCPhys/FInstP)
  • 2005 Dr. honoris causa ("Laurea magistralis honoris causa") in Physics, Università di Camerino, Italy
    Dr. honoris causa, University of Silesia, Katowice, Poland
    Dr. honoris causa, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
  • 2005 Elected Foreign Fellow of the Am. Assoc. Adv. Science (AAAS)
  • 2006 Dr. honoris causa, Tatar State University of Humanities and Pedagogical Sciences, Kazan, Russia
  • 2006 Visiting Professorship in the Department of Physics, National University of Singapore (NUS); 2006 - 2008
  • May 14, 2006 Medal of honour from the Jagellonian University in Krakow in recognition for his most outstanding scientific achievements and his continued dissemination of statistical physics works which relate in spirit to the pioneering contributions by Marian von Smoluchowski. The medal has been designed by Polish artist and sculptor, Jozef Sekowski, professor of the Academy of Fine Arts in Krakow
  • May 31, 2006 Doctor honoris causa from the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine
  • June 1, 2006 Award for the "Chair of Physics Elena Aizen de Moshinsky" from the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM)
  • June 2007 Honorary Professor award from the Beijing Normal University, Beijing
  • April 2007 Elected ordinary member of the Academia Europaea, Physics and Engineering Sciences
  • February 12, 2008 Doctor rer. nat. honoris causa from the Humboldt University Berlin
  • 2009 Distinguished Lecture Series at Asian Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP) and Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH)
  • 2009 Doctor honoris causa from the Universidad de Sevilla, Spain
  • November 2009 Elected "Outstanding Referee" of the American Physical Society (APS)
  • December 2009 ScienceWATCH Fast breaking paper
  • December 2009 selected for because of exceptional citation count in the field of Physics
  • 2010 Centre for Theory in Natural Science (CTN) "Lindhard Lecture Prize 2010", University of Aarhus, Denmark,
  • 2010 Dr. honoris causa from the Bogolyubov Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kiev
  • 2011 The Lars Onsager Medal 2011 and The Lars Onsager Lecture Prize 2011
  • 2012 Director of the International School of Statistical Mechanics at the Ettore Majorana Foundation and Centre for Scientific Culture
  • June 2013/2015/2017/2019 Elected member for the European Research Council (ERC)-panel PE 3 (Physical and Engineering Sciences, Condensed Matter) and reviewer for the panels: PE 3, PE 2 (Fundamental Sci.), PE 5 (Chemistry and Materials)
  • May 2014 Elected member of the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC)
  • December 2014 Distinguished scientist award and David Ben Gurion medal, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel (10.12.2014) May 2015 Elected outstanding reviewer status Elsevier publications
  • November 2015 Elected foreign honorary member to the Academiei Române
  • April 2016 Dr. honoris causa, Lobachevsky University, Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
  • March 2018 Blaise Pascal medal in Physics from the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC)
  • November 2018 Honorary Professor, Huaqiao University, Xiamen, China
  • November 2018 15.11.2018: Marian-Smoluchowski-Emil-Warburg-Prize, commonly awarded by the German and the Polish Physical Societies (,
  • April 2019 Award: “Senior Member Nanosystems Initiative Munich” (NIM)
  • April 2019 Member of Committee: Evaluation for “National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR)
  • 2019 M. Smoluchowski-E.-Warburg prize by the German & Polish Phys. Soc.
  • 2023 Lars Onsager Prize

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-16) was last changed on Tuesday, 22. August 2023, 08:20 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by