Peter Gruss#

Peter Gruss
Membership Number:450
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GERMANY

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2002-2014 President of the Max Planck Society
  • 1997-1998 Managing Director of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen
  • Since 1990 Honorary Professor, University of Göttingen
  • Since 1986 Director (Department of Molecular Cell Biology), Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen
  • 1983-1986 Member of the Directorate of the Center for Molecular Biology, University of Heidelberg (ZMBH)
  • 1982-1986 Associate Professor of Microbiology, University of Heidelberg
  • 1978-1982 Laboratory of Molecular Virology, National Cancer Institute, NIH, Bethesda, Maryland, USA
  • 1981-1982 Visiting Scientist, NIH
  • 1980-1981 Expert Consultant, NIH
  • 1978-1980 Postdoctoral Fellow, NIH
  • 1977-1978 Postdoctoral Assistant at the Institute of Virus Research, German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg

Fields of Scholarship
  • Developmental biology
  • Development of mammals
  • Development of the nervous system
  • Gene regulation processes

Honours and Awards
  • 2009 Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany - Cross of Merit, First class
  • 2007 National Award for International Science and Technology of the People’s Republic of China
  • 2004 State Prize of Lower Saxony
  • 2003 Virchow-Lecture and Award, Würzburg
  • 2003 George Khoury Lecture, Bethesda
  • 2003 Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 2002 Berthold Medal and Lecture of the German Society of Endocrinology, Göttingen
  • 1999 German Future Prize 1999, The German President’s Prize for Technology and Innovation
  • 1999 Stifterverband Science Prize (by the Donors’ association for the Promotion of Humanities and Science)
  • 1996 Election to Full Member of the Academy of Sciences in Göttingen
  • 1995 The Louis-Jeantet-Prize for Medicine, Geneve
  • 1995 Carus Medal of the German Academy of Natural Scientists Leopoldina, Halle
  • 1995 Carus Award of the City of Schweinfurt for Members of the Leopoldina
  • 1994 Jenkinson Memorial Lecture, Oxford
  • 1994 Leibniz Prize awarded by the German Research Foundation (DFG)
  • 1992 Medal of the Collége de France, Paris
  • 1992 Jean Brachet Memorial Lecture, Award of the International Society of Differentiation
  • 1992 Butenandt-Lecture of the Society of Biological Chemistry
  • 1992 NIH-Scholar-in-Residence Award
  • 1992 Feldberg Lecture Award
  • 1983 Robert Koch Career Development Award of Clausthal-Zellerfeld
  • 1983 Lectureship stipend granted by the Fonds der Chemie
  • 1981 Heisenberg stipend awarded
  • 1978 Postdoctoral fellowship awarded by the German Research Foundation

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-5) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Nowak Aleksandra
  • operated by