Derrick-Philippe GOSSELIN#

Derrick-Philippe Gosselin
Membership Number:3341
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:BELGIUM

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2013 Chairman, Board of Governors, Belgian Nuclear Sciences Research Centre (SCK CEN)
  • 2021 Vice-Chairman, (Board Member since 2014), Board of Governors, Royal Higher Institute for Defense (RHID)
  • 2020 Vice-Chairman, (Board Member since 2015), Board of Trustees, OLV Hospital Aalst (Belgium)
  • 2019 Vice-Chairman, Board of Directors, Belgonucléaire SA (Belgium)
  • 2022 Member, NATO Advisory Board on Emerging and Disruptive Technologies (EDT)
  • 2021 Member, Energy Steering Panel (ESP), European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC)
  • 2015 Member, Board of Directors, Von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics (VKI)
  • 2007 Associate Fellow, Green Templeton College, University of Oxford
  • 2021 Emeritus Professor, Ghent University
  • 2001-2021 Senior Full Professor, School of Economics, Ghent University
  • 2015-2018 Vice-Chairman, Von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics (VKI)
  • 2007-2011 Associate Fellow, InSIS, University of Oxford
  • 2011-2022 Associate Fellow, Oxford Martin School, University of Oxford
  • 2007-2015 Member of the Global Futures Councils, World Economic Forum (WEF)

Fields of Scholarship
  • Strategic Foresight
  • Complex (long term) decision making in turbulent and uncertain environments

Honours and Awards
  • Fellow, Royal Academy of Belgium for Science and the Arts (KVAB) (2004)
  • Fellow (associate), Royal Academy for Overseas Sciences (RAOS) (2021)
  • Member, Academia Europaea (2012)
  • Member (corresponding), French National Air and. Space Academy (AAE) (2023)
  • Fellow, Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufacture, and Commerce (FRSA, London)
  • Fellow, High Hill College, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (2007 KU Leuven)
  • Fellow, The Institution of Engineering and Technology (FIET, London)
  • Senior Member, IEEE (SMIEE)


  • Grand Officer (2024) - Commander (2012) - Officer (2007), Order of Leopold
  • Grand Officer, Order of the Crown (2018)
  • Officer, Order of Leopold II (1998)
  • Silver honorary badge for social devotion (Plaquette d'hommage d'argent pour dévouement social) (2021)
  • Officer, National Order of Merit (Ordre national du mérite) (2020)
  • Officer, National Order of the Academic Palmes (Ordre national des Palmes académiques) (2015)
  • Knight, National Order of the Legion of Honour (Chevalier de la l'Légion d'honneur) (2009)

  • operated by