Odile Eisenstein#

Odile Eisenstein
Membership Number:3318
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:FRANCE

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2012-2015 Adjunct Professor University of Oslo and Centre of Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
  • 2004 (4 months) Miller Professor UC Berkeley
  • 2003 to present Directeur de Recherche Classe exceptionnelle CNRS and Université Montpellier 2
  • 1991 to 2003 Directeur de recherche 1st Classe CNRS and Université Paris-Sud (till 1996). Since 1996 CNRS and Montpellier 2
  • 1988 Fellow of the Institute for Advanced Studies Indiana University
  • 1987-1988 Invited professor Indiana University
  • 1985 to 1991 Directeur de Recherche 2nd Class CNRS and Université Paris-Sud
  • 1979 to 1985 Chargée de Recherche CNRS and Université Paris-Sud
  • 1979-1980 Nato fellow Cornell Université
  • 1971 -1979 Stagiaire de recherche CNRS

Fields of Scholarship
  • Activation of inert bonds (CH and C-F) by transition metal complexes
  • Computational studies of structures, electronic structures and reaction pathways
  • Computational studies of metal hydrides (prediction of structures, properties NMR, reactivity)
  • Molecular orbitals and NBO analysis
  • Grignard Reaction mechanism
  • Activation of C-H bonds by MnO porphyrine complexes
  • Computational chemistry for the study of organometallic species
  • Analysis of NMR chemical shift and relation with reactivity and properties
  • Computational studies of dihydrogen transfer reactions, activation of N2
  • DFT calculations
  • Computational studies of d0 alkylidene Schrock olefin metathesis reactions
  • Mechanisms for water oxydation

Honours and Awards

  • In France
    • 2018 Officier de l'Ordre de la Légion d'honneur
    • 2014 Officier de l'Ordre du Mérite
    • 2008 Chevalier de l'ordre de la Légion d'honneur
    • 1994 Silver medal Chemistry CNRS
    • 1991 Prix Le Bel Société Française de Chimie
    • 1991 Prix Paul Langevin, Académie des Sciences
  • Outside France
    • 2021 Elected International Member of the US National Academy of Science
    • 2021 Elected International Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
    • 2017 Doctor Honoris Causae Technion (Israel)
    • 2017 Centenary Prize from the Royal Society of Chemistry
    • 2015 Doctor Honoris Causae University of York
    • 2014 Doctor Honoris Causae University of Oslo
    • 2012 Doctor Honoris Causae Université Laval (Québec)
    • 2009 ACS Organometallic Award
    • 2006 Elected to the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences, IAQMS
    • 2005 Sir Edward Frankland Medal and Lectureship Royal Society of Chemistry Dalton Division
    • Doctor Honoris Causae Indiana University 1998

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last changed on Tuesday, 27. September 2022, 23:50 by Eisenstein Odile
  • operated by