Alex van der Eb - Curriculum vitae#

Present position
  • Emeritus Professor, Department of Toxicogenetics, Leiden
  • Advisor Biotechnology Company Crucell, Leiden Netherlands

  • 1954-1961 Biology (microbiology, biochemistry), University of Leiden (cum laude)
  • 1964-1968 Thesis, University of Leiden

Scientific career
  • 1968-1970 California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
  • 1970-1974 Dept. of Physiological Chemistry, University of Leiden
  • 1975-1980 Associate Professor, Tumor-Virology, University of Leiden
  • 1980-1999 Full Professor of Molecular Carcinogenesis, University of Leiden
  • 1999-2003 Guest employee Leiden University Medical Center
  • 2002-present Crucell B.V., Leiden, scientific advisor
  • 2003 Visiting Professor Nagasaki University, Nagasaki, Japan


More than 250 scientific publications; 47 dissertations.

  • 1975 AKZO-Prize for research on adenoviruses
  • 1978 Beijerinck-Virology Medal (Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences)
  • 1988 Robert Koch Prize, Bonn, West Germany
  • 1989 Japan Organization for Promotion of Cancer Research Award
  • 1993 Hyclone Award
  • 1996 Federa Award
  • 1997 IRS Prize (Institute for Radiopathology and Radiation Protection).
  • 1998 Royal distinction “Ridder in de Orde van de Nederlandse Leeuw”

Selected memberships
  • Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences (KNAW)
  • Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)
  • Member of the Academia Europaea
  • Member of the Royal Holland Science Association (1752) Haarlem

Scientific advisory boards and committees, past and present
  • Biotechnology Center of Oslo, University Oslo
  • Max Delbrück Centre, Berlin-Buch
  • Volkswagenstiftung, Hannover
  • National Fund for Scientific Research, Brussels
  • Member of the National Recombinant DNA Advisory Committee (COGEM)
  • Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam
  • Crucell, Leiden
  • Institute of Brain Research, Amsterdam
  • Ophthalmic Research Institute, Amsterdam
  • Eijkman Graduate School of Immunology and Infectious Diseases, University of Utrecht
  • Member Central Committee for Research involving Human Subjects (CCMO)
  • Selection Committee, Louis Jeantet Prize, Geneva
  • Selection committee, Heineken Prizes, Royal Academy of Sciences, Amsterdam
  • Anatomic Energy Centre (CEA) Paris
  • Chairman, Committee on Animal Experiments and Biotechnology,
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences, Amsterdam
  • Member of the board of the Foundation Netherlands Cancer Institute Funds

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-3) was last changed on Friday, 1. March 2013, 12:09 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by