Tomasz Dietl - Curriculum vitae#

Languages: Polish, English, French, Russian


  • M.S.: Department of Physics, University of Warsaw (1973)
  • Ph.D. : Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw (1977)
  • Habilitation: Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences (1983)
  • Professor, scientific title and position at the Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences (1990)


Present Positions:

  • Professor and Head of the International Centre for Interfacing Magnetism and Superconductivity with Topological Matter - "MagTop" at the Insitute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw (2017- )
  • Professor and PI at WPI-Advanced Insitute for Materials Research, Tohoku University, Sendai (part-time) (2012- )

Past Positions:
  • 1973 - 1976 – PhD Student, Institute of Physics, PAS
  • 1976 - 1977 – Research Assistant, Institute of Physics, PAS
  • 1978 – French Government Scholarschip, Laboratoire de Physique de la Matiere Condensée, Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France (c/o prof. I. Solomon, 10 months)
  • 1979 - 1983 – Research Associate, Institute of Physics, PAS
  • 1984 - 1985 – Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship, Physik-Department Technische Universität München, Garching, Germany (c/o prof. F. Koch, 14 months)
  • 1986 - 1990 – Docent, Institute of Physics, PAS
  • 1986 - 2003 – head, Group of Low-Temperature Physics, Institute of Physics, PAS
  • 1990 – Professor, Institute of Physics, PAS
  • 1988, 89 – Visiting Scientist, Francis Bitter Magnet Lab, MIT, Cambridge, USA (6 weeks)
  • 1991 - 92, 1996-98 – Visiting Professor, J. Kepler Univ., Linz, Austria (13 months in total)
  • 1993 - 2000 – Visiting Professor, J. Fourier Univ. Grenoble, France (10 months in total)
  • 1993 - 2001 – Founding member and Professor, College of Science, Warsaw
  • 1995 - 1996 – Deputy Rector, College of Science, Warsaw
  • 1999 - Professor, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan (12 months)
  • 2003 – Humboldt Research Award at Regensburg University, Germany (7 months)
  • 2004 - 2017 Head at Laboratory of Cryogenic and Spintronic Research and Group of Spin Phenomena Physics, Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences (PAS)
  • 2004 - 2016 - part-time appointment at Chair of Condensed Matter Physics, Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Warsaw
  • 2011-2014 - a member of the Scientific Council and Steering Committee of the European Research Council (ERC)

  • Maria Skłodowska-Curie Award, Polish Academy of Sciences, 1997
  • Member of Polish Academy of Sciences, 1998
  • Chartered Physicist, 2000 and Fellow, 2004, The Institute of Physics, UK
  • Humboldt Research Award, Germany, 2003
  • Agilent Technologies Europhysics Prize, 2005 (with David D. Awschalom and Hideo Ohno)
  • Prize of Foundation for Polish Science, 2006
  • Ordinary Member of Science Society of Warsaw, 2009
  • Member of Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2009
  • Marian Smoluchowski Medal of the Polish Physical Society, 2010
  • Academia Europaea,2011
  • Fellow, American Physical Society, 2015
  • International Fellow, Japanese Society of Applied Physics, 2019


e.g., E-MRS Fall Meeting (Warsaw, 2004, 2010); Moscow International Symposium on Magnetism (2008); European Physical Society Meetings (Bern 2005, Prague 2004, Budapest 2002); 27th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (Flagstaff 2004); Joint Magnetic Symposia (Dresden 2003).

RECENT EXECUTED RESEARCH PROJECTS (in all projects serving as PI/local person in charge)

1. MagTop (Foundation for Polish Science, IRA Program), International Centre for Interfacing Magnetism and Superconductivity with Topological Matter, 2017-2023 (12 000 000 EUR)
2. InTechFun (Innovative Economy Operational Programme, Structural Funds, EC), Innovative multifunctional materials and structures for microelectronics, photonics, spintronics, and sensor techniques, 2008-2013 (340 000 Euro)
3. FunDMS; European Research Council, Advanced Grants (ERC-2008-AdG-227690), Functionalisation of Diluted Magnetic Semiconductors; 2008-2013 (2 440 000 Euro)

Past research projects:

SPINTRA, European Science Foundation CRP (2006 - 2009); NANOSPIN EC FP6 IST project (2006-2008); SEMICONDUCTOR SPINTRONICS, Ohno ERATO Project of Japan Science and Technology Agency (2003-2008); FENIKS EC FP5 GROWTH project (2002-2005); AMORE EC FP5 GROWTH project (2002-2003); Professor Subsidy of the Foundation for Polish Science (2000-2002); five successive three years' local projects of Ministry of Science (1991-2005); Maestro Project, National Science Centre (2012-2016)

Participation in bilateral collaboration projects and European networks:

PL-AU “Ost-West”; PL-FR “Polonium”, PL-USA – Maria Curie Fund; PHANTOMS network in mesoscopic physics (since 1993); Nanoscale Semiconductor Spintronic (SemiSpinNet) within the Maria Curie Initial Training Networks Action (2008-2011).

  • Revelation of charge transport peculiarities in zero- and narrow-gap gap semiconductors and alloys
  • Elucidation of difference between momentum relaxation and quantum lifetime in quantum transport
  • Demonstration of the role of surface conductance in hydrogenated a-Si
  • Theory of bound magnetic polaron and its thermodynamic, optical, transport, and dynamic signatures
  • Pioneering field-effect and quantum Hall effect studies of DMS
  • Discovery of new spin effects in localisation phenomena, metal-insulator transition, universal conductance fluctuations, and quantum noise in doped semiconductors and their nanostructures
  • Elucidation of origin and strong coupling effects of sp-d coupling in DMS
  • Theory of hole-mediated ferromagnetism and the origin of high-temperature ferromagnetism in DMS
  • Semiconductor spintronics of non-magnetic semiconductors, diluted ferromagnetic semiconductors, and hybrid ferromagnetic metal/semiconductor structures (Stern-Gerlach spin filter)
  • Demonstration of the dominant role of superexchange in topological magnetic insulators
  • Explanation of the pertinent properties of quantum spin Hall materials by the acceptor impurity band

  1. Co-foundation and co-organisation of the College of Science
  2. Four of the former PhD students completed habilitation in physics; another one is deputy director of the Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences
  3. In-house training of PhD students from abroad (Austria, France, Germany, UK).

  • European Physical Society: Low-Temperature Section, Board Member, 1999--
  • International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP): Member of Low Temperature Commission (C5), 2003-08; Associated Member of Semiconductor Commission (C8), 2003-2008

Editorial Boards:

Postępy Fizyki 1986–2002; Semicond. Sci. Technology 2001-2016; J. Magn. Magn. Materials 2008-2010; Phys. Rev. B 2012-2018
Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last changed on Monday, 30. January 2023, 12:05 by Dietl Tomasz
  • operated by