Loucas Christophorou#

Loucas Christophorou
Membership Number:3812
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GREECE

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2001 - Present Permanent member of the Academy of Athens, Director of the Office of Research in Experimental Physics and Chair of Academy’s Energy Committee
  • 1995 - 2001 Senior Research Scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
  • 08/1990 - 09/1991, Visiting Professor, Free University of Berlin, Germany
  • 1964 - 1997 Ford Foundation Professor of Physics, University of Tennessee (concurrent position)
  • 1963 - 1995 Researcher, head of the Atomic and Molecular Radiation Physics Program; Corporate Fellow; Senior Corporate Fellow, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) USA

Fields of Scholarship
  • Technological innovations derived from basic research
  • Electron, chemical and plasma physics
  • Atomic and molecular radiation physics
  • Energy production and use and its impact on society and the environment
  • Interactions of photons, slow electrons, and ions with atoms and molecules

Honours and Awards
  • 2013 Member of EASAC’s Presidium
  • 2012 Member of the Highest Governing Council of the University of Thessaloniki
  • 2011 Corresponding Member of the Montenegrin Academy of Sciences and Arts
  • 2009 Honorary Doctor of Science degree, University of Patras, Greece
  • 2003 Dedication of The Second International Symposium on Low Energy Electron Molecule Interactions, Poland, 2003, to Loucas G. Christophorou on his 65th birthday
  • 2001 Permanent Member of the Academy of Athens
  • 2000 Distinguished Visiting Scientist, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science
  • 1997 Medal of The Order of Phoenix of Greece
  • 1995 Senior ORNL Corporate Fellow Emeritus
  • 1991 Senior ORNL Corporate Fellow
  • 1991 Alexander von Humboldt Senior Scientist Research Award (for excellence in teaching and research), Germany
  • 1981 ORNL Corporate Fellow
  • 1976 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 1974 Fellow, American Physical Society
  • 1969 DSc University of Manchester UK
  • Ten awards from ORNL/Martin Marietta Energy Systems (for significant event, invention, publication, technical achievement, and excellence in research)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-11) was last changed on Tuesday, 18. January 2022, 11:20 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by