Maria da Graça Carvalho#

Maria da Graça Carvalho
Membership Number:4607
Membership type:HONORARY
Main Country of Residence:PORTUGAL

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2016/01 - today Member of Unit 01 Scientific Advice Mechanism, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission
  • 2014/11 - 2015/12 Senior Adviser Cabinet Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, European Commission
  • 2009 - 2014 Member of the European Parliament
  • 2006 - 2009 Principal Adviser to the President of the European Commission
  • 2006/05 - 2006/12 Acting Director General of BEPA (now EPSC)
  • 2004 - 2005 Minister of Science, Innovation and Higher Education of the Portuguese XVI Constitutional Government
  • 2003 - 2005 Minister of Science and Higher Education of the Portuguese XV Constitutional Government
  • 2002 - 2003 Director General of GRICES Office for International Relations in Science and Higher Education
  • Since 1992-today Full Professor at Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon, Lisbon
  • 1987 - 1992 Associate Professor with Habilitation at Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon, Lisbon

Fields of Scholarship
  • Evidence based policy making
  • Computational fluid dynamics, heat transfer and combustion
  • Energy and climate change policy
  • Effects of air quality on health
  • Science and innovation policy
  • Formation of pollutants in combustion, NOx and particles
  • Mitigation, Kyoto mechanisms, capacity building and technology transfer in the context of climate change
  • Clean air technologies, air quality
  • Sustainability assessment, energy planning, new and renewable energy technologies

Honours and Awards
  • 2016 Recipient of the first Prize Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo, a career prize to honour outstanding women scientists and engineers
  • 2016 Recipient of the IUMRS International Union of Materials Research Societies Global Leadership and Service Award
  • 2016 Member of the Council that assists the President of Republic in the attribution of the Orders of Civil Merit.
  • 2012 Medal of Merit of the City of Beja
  • 2011 Awarded the Prize for the best Member of the European Parliament in the area of Research and Innovation
  • 2008 CIRCE Prize, CIRCE Foundation, Saragossa
  • 2005 Honoured with the Portuguese Great Cross-Chancellery of the International Order of Merit of the Discoverer of Brazil
  • 2002 Awarded the title of “Great Official of the Order of Public Instruction” by the President of Portugal
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
  • Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
  • Fellow of the World Academy of Art and Science(WAAS)
  • Fellow of the Portuguese Institute of Engineers
  • Fellow of the Portuguese Academy of Science
  • Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineers of Spain
  • Founder of the Portuguese Academy of Engineers (she is Member number 2)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-11) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by