Peter Bruce - Curriculum Vitae#

  • 1974 – 1981 University of Aberdeen
    BSc, PhD Chemistry
    "Lithium Ion Conducting Solid Electrolytes", supervised by Prof. A. R. West

  • 1981 - 1984 Postdoctoral Research Fellow with Prof. J. B. Goodenough, Head of the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory, University of Oxford
  • 1984 - 1990 Lecturer in the Department of Chemistry, Heriot-Watt University
  • 1990 - 1994 Reader in the Department of Chemistry, University of St Andrews
  • 1994 - 2007 Professor in the Department of Chemistry, University of St Andrews
  • 1995 - 1997 Head of Section
  • 1997 - 2003 Head of School of Chemistry
  • 2007 - 2013 Wardlaw Professor of Chemistry
  • 2014 Wolfson Professor, University of Oxford

  • Royal Society of Edinburgh (Scottish Academy of Sciences), 1995
  • Royal Society (UK Academy of Sciences), 2007


20+ awards including from the Royal Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the German Chemical Sociaty, Fudan University (Shanghai) etc.


Invited to present 490 talks including many plenary or keynote talks at major international meetings.


333 papers to date, in high quality international journals, including Nature, Science, Nature Materials, Nature Medicine, Nature Eneregy, Nature Comminications, J. Am Chem Soc.
H-index 96.
He holds 21 major patents.


He has served on many national and international bodies, including the editorial boards of high impact journals, and scientific committees of all the major conferences in his field. He has also organised major international conferences. Examples of his recent service include: membership of the Advisory Board of the US Energy Storage Hub, Chair of the Board of the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research Stuttgart, the Royal Society Science Industry and Translation Committee, the Royal Society Planning and Resources Committee and many other UK and international committees. He is Director of the UK Energy Storage Hub which represents UK research in energy storage and brings together all UK parties across academia, industry and government. He is Chief Scientist of the Faraday Institute, the new UK Institute for energy storage research.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-3) was last changed on Monday, 29. October 2018, 17:02 by System
  • operated by