Peter John Barnes#

Peter John Barnes
Membership Number:3214
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:UNITED KINGDOM

Present and Previous Positions

  • Professor of Thoracic Medicine, National Heart & Lung Institute, London; Head of Respiratory Medicine, Imperial College London
  • Honorary Consultant Physician, Royal Brompton Hospital, London
  • 1985-1987: Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, Cardiothoracic Institute, University of London
  • 1982-1985: Consultant Physician and Senior Lecturer, Hammersmith Hospital, London.
  • 1981-1982 MRC Travelling Fellowship, Cardiovascular Research Institute, San Francisco, USA
  • 1979-1982: Senior Registrar (General and Respiratory Medicine), Hammersmith Hospital, London
  • 1978-1979: MRC Research Fellow, Dept of Clinical Pharmacology, Hammersmith Hospital London
  • 1975-1978: Medical Registrar (General Medicine), University College Hospital, London
  • 1975: Senior House Office (Neurology), National Hospital, London
  • 1974: Senior House Office (Thoracic Medicine), Brompton Hospital, London
  • 1972-1973: House Physician/Surgeon, Radcliffe Infirmary, Oxford

Fields of Scholarship
  • Respiratory Pharmacology: molecular mechanisms of corticosteroids and bronchodilators
  • Respiratory Medicine: specifically asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease
  • Mediators of inflammation, oxidative stress in lung disease
  • Inflammatory mechanisms: transcriptional control of inflammatory genes, transcription factors, chromatin remodell
  • Mechanisms of corticosteroid resistance
  • Inflammatory biomarkers in breath

Honours and Awards
  • 2011: President Elect, European Respiratory Society
  • 2011: Fellow of St Catharine’s College, Cambridge, UK
  • 2010: Honorary MD, Leuven University, Belgium
  • 2009: Senior Investigator, National Institute of Health Research, UK
  • 2009: Croonian Lecture, Royal College of Physicians, London
  • 2008: British Thoracic Society Gold Medal
  • 2007: European Respiratory Society Presidential Award,
  • 2007: Fellow of Royal Society (first respiratory scientist for >150 years)
  • 2006: Honorary MD, University of Tampere, Finland
  • 2002: American College of Chest Physicians: College Medallist
  • 2000: Honorary MD, University of Athens, Greece
  • 1998: Fellow of Academy of Medical Science (Founding Fellow)
  • 1999: Sadoul Lecture, European Respiratory Society (most prestigious lecture of society)
  • 1997: Honorary MD, University of Ferrara, Italy
  • 1997: William Withering Lecture, Royal College of Physicians, London
  • 1996: Amberson Lecture, American Thoracic Society (most prestigious lecture of society)
  • 1994: Leon Goldberg Prize, University of Chicago
  • 1990: Linacre Medal, Royal College of Physicians, London

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-7) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by