Polly Arnold
Membership Number:5092
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:UNITED STATES

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2020 - Professor of Chemistry, University of California Berkeley, and Director, Chemical Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, USA.
  • 2013 - 2019 Crum Brown Chair of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh
  • 2009 - 2013 Chair of Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry, University of Edinburgh
  • 2007 - 2009 Reader in Inorganic Chemistry, University of Edinburgh
  • 1999 - 2007 Lecturer then Reader (from 2006) in Inorganic Chemistry, University of Nottingham
  • 1997 - 1998 Fulbright Scholar, MIT, Cambridge, USA. Postdoctoral Fellowship
  • 1994 - 1997 DPhil Chemistry, Sussex University
  • 1990 - 1994 MA Chemistry, Oxford University

Fields of Scholarship
  • Exploratory synthetic chemistry of the f-block
  • Synthesis of metal compounds
  • Development of new understanding of the heaviest and most reactive metals
  • homogeneous catalysis with earth abundant rare earth complexes
  • transuranic chemistry

Honours and Awards
  • FRS, 2018. Elevated to the Fellowship of the Royal Society
  • Sir Geoff Wilkinson Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry 2018. For pioneering research into transuranic organometallic chemistry
  • Todd-Krebs Lectureship 2018 of the German Chemical Society GDCh. For advances in chemistry
  • Lord Kelvin Prize of the Royal Society of Edinburgh 2017. Scotland’s senior research prize in the physical sciences
  • OBE, 2017. Admitted to the Queen’s most Excellent Order of the British Empire, for services to chemistry and women in STEM, in the Queens’s birthday honours
  • The Chancellor's Prize for Research 2017, University of Edinburgh. Awarded annually by HRH the Princess Royal for research excellence
  • Seaborg Visiting Professorship 2017. Research sabbatical position hosted by the Seaborg Institute, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
  • Gordon Young Lectureship 2017. Chemical Institute of Canada
  • ERC Advanced Grant. F-ex, exploration and understanding of subtle and weak interactions in f-element bonding
  • TUM Ambassador, since 2017. Technische Universität München
  • Seaborg Lectureship 2015. Award lectures and research sabbatical hosted by UC Berkeley, USA
  • Lucy Pickett Lectureship 2015. Mount Holyoke College, USA. First recipient of the award from outside North American. For contributions to science and women in STEM
  • Senior Visiting Scholarship, 2015, Fudan University, Shanghai
  • Suffrage Science Jewellery recipient 2014, MRC, UK. Awarded by the UK Research Councils for contributions to women in STEM
  • FRSE since 2012. Elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh
  • Royal Society Franklin Medal 2012. For scientific excellence, and women in STEM activity
  • Corday-Morgan Prize 2012, Royal Society of Chemistry, UK. For breakthrough research in chemistry
  • Mordecai Rubin lectureship 2012, Technion Research Institute, Israel
  • EPSRC Leadership Fellowship, 2009 - 2014
  • Humboldt Foundation, Bessel award, 2007. Made to ten promising scientists under the age of 45 (aged 35 at time of award)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-10) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Arnold Polly
  • operated by