Mohamed-Slim Alouini#

Mohamed-Slim Alouini
Membership Number:4982
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:TUNISIA

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2009 June - Present Professor of Electrical Engineering and Associate Dean of CEMSE Division, King Abdullah University of Sciences and Technology (KAUST), Thuwal, Makkah Province, Kingdom of Saudi Arabi
  • 2008 July - 2009 June Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Texas A&M University (TAMUQ), Education City, Doha, Qatar
  • 2005 July - 2008 June Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Texas A&M University (TAMUQ), Education City, Doha, Qatar
  • 2003 June - 2005 July Tenured Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
  • 1998 September - 2003 May Tenure-Track Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
  • 1998 July - 1998 September Post-Doctoral Fellow (with Prof. A. Goldsmith), California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, California, USA
  • 1996 April - 1998 June Graduate Research Assistant (with Prof. A. Goldsmith) & Graduate Teaching Assistant Fall 1995, Winter 1996, and Winter 1997 California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, California, USA
  • 1992 Fall Term and 1993 Summer Term Co-op Student (with Mr. J.-B. Thomine), National Research Center of Telecom. (CNET) Paris, France
  • 1992 Summer Term Undergraduate Research Assistant (with Prof. H. Griffths), University College London (UCL), London, United Kingdom
  • 1991 Summer Term Summer Intern, France Telecom Paris, France

Fields of Scholarship
  • Engineering sciences
  • Electrical engineering
  • Telecommunication systems and networks
  • Wireless communications and networks

Honours and Awards
  • March 2019 Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts (EASA) (Class VI: Technical & Environmental Sciences)
  • December 2018 Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences (AAS)
  • August 2018 Fellow of the Academy of Engineering & Technology of the Developing World (AETDEW)
  • January 2016-December 2017 IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Distinguished Lecturer. (July 2018 - Present) and IEEE Communication Society Distinguished Lecturer
  • November 2017 Received the 2016 Abdul Hameed Shoman Award for Arab Researchers in Engineering Sciences, Amman, Jordan (see and
  • September 2017 Received the Inaugural Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) Science, Technology, & Innovation Achievement Award in Engineering Sciences, Astana, Kazhakstan (see and see also honored at OIC Summit.aspx)
  • December 2016 Received the 2016 IEEE Communication Society Technical Committee on Wireless Communications (WTC) Recognition Award which recognizes each year one or two persons with outstanding achievements and contribution in the area of Wireless and Mobile Communications Theory, Systems, and Networks. (see
  • 2016, 2015, and 2009 Selected to be included in the Thomson ISI Web of Knowledge list of Highly Cited Researchers ( for top 1 % most citation in the field of Computer Science"
  • Faculty Service Award, Computer Electrical and Mathematical Science Division (CEMSE) Division at KAUST, June 2016.
  • June 2016 Selected to be included in the list of the Most Cited Researchers Developed for Shanghai Ranking's Global Ranking of Academic Subjects 2016 by Elsevier ( in the area of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • April 2009 Recipient of the inaugural Texas A&M University at Qatar Faculty Excellence Award (For excellence in teaching, research, scholarship, professional service, student interaction, and engagement with the Texas A&M at Qatar community and beyond)
  • January 2009 Fellow IEEE (at age of 39)
  • May 2008. Recipient of the Suk-Top teaching award from Korea University (for excellent e-teaching - Taught on-line semester long on a weekly basis graduate level courses on Probability and Random Processes (Fall'08) and Wireless Communication (Spring'09))
  • January 2005 Selected among the University of Minnesota Institute of Technology (IT) best teachers who were featured in the Winter 2005 edition of the IT Inventing Tomorrow magazine (Vol. 29, No. 1)
  • 2002 - 2003 Taylor Career Development Award from the Institute of Technology (IT) Promotion and Tenure Committee with the concurrence of the Dean of IT
  • Best Instructor Award (Department of ECE) by the Institute of Technology Student Board at the University of Minnesota. May 2001 and May 2002
  • 2001 - 2003 University of Minnesota's McKnight Land-Grant Professorship
  • 1999 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award
  • 1999 Charles Wilts Prize for outstanding independent research leading to a PhD degree in EE at Caltech (awarded every year to one EE graduate for outstanding independent research in Electrical Engineering leading to a PhD)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-11) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by