Sos Agaian#

Sos Agaian
Membership Number:6074
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:UNITED STATES

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2017 - present Distinguished Professor, College of Staten Island and the Graduate Center, CUNY
  • 1997 - present Executive, Computational Vision and Learning Laboratory, CSI/CUNY
  • 2005 - present, Graduate Faculty, the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
  • 2016 - present Researcher Open Cloud Institute
  • 2005 - 2017 Peter T. Flawn Professor, the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) Director of the Multimedia Analytics & Mobile Signal Processing Laboratory
  • 1997 - 2005 Professor, the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) Director of the Multimedia Analytics & Mobile Signal Processing Laboratory
  • 1997- 2011 Adjunct Professor, ECE Department, Tufts University
  • 2001 - 2002 Engineering Professor, Graduate Center, the City University of New York
  • 1996 - 1997 Leading Scientist, AWARE, INC. Bedford, MA
  • 1993 - 1996 Visiting Prof., Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Tufts University, MA
  • 1999 - 2001, 1992 - 1993 (summers), Visiting Prof. at the Tampere International Center for Signal Processing, Finland
  • 1979 - 1993 Professor, Yerevan State University, Yerevan Polytechnic Institute; Chairman, Department of Computation and Digital Signal Processing, National Academy of Sciences of Armenia
  • 1975 - 1989 Associate /Assistant Professor; Department of Computer Science, Yerevan State University, and Yerevan Polytechnic Institute, Armenia

Fields of Scholarship
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Signal processing
  • Data analytics
  • Cancer screening
  • Signal processing
  • Computational vision
  • Multimedia analytics
  • Multimedia security
  • Machine learning

Honours and Awards
  • 2021 Elected AAIA Fellow, The Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association (AAIA)
  • 2021 SPIE Community Champion Award
  • 2020 SPIE Community Champion Award
  • 2018 Life Career Award, Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America, Northeastern Section, “for his significant accomplishments throughout careers.”
  • 2017 Elected IEEE Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, “for his contributions to biologically-inspired visual data processing systems.” (
  • 2016, Annual Innovation Award, Texas University at San Antonio,
  • 2015, A Charter Member of the Academy of Distinguished Researchers, UTSA, (The purposes of the academy is to honor outstanding faculty who exemplify excellence in research; to foster a culture of exceptional research practices at UTSA, and to create a collective of faculty advocates who can serve as a resource for their colleagues, This membership has been awarded only eleven UTSA employees of over 3000 employees
  • 2015 Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching, College of Engineering, UTSA.
  • 2014 UTSA’s Innovator of the Year
  • 2014 Tech Flash Titans: Top Researcher Award, San Antonio Business Journal,
  • 2013 Annual Innovation Award, Texas University at San Antonio.
  • 2013 Elected IS&T Fellow, The Society for Imaging Science and Technology, for his outstanding contributions to the fields of multimedia-imaging systems and security systems, including embedded data decryption processes and data hiding methods for mobile communications
  • 2010 Elected AAAS Fellow, The American Association for the Advancement of Science,” for distinguished contributions to advances in the theory of intelligent imaging systems and applied science including fundamental methodology, service to the profession, and engineering education”
  • 2009, UTSA has been designated as a “National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Research” by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security. UTSA is only one of 23 institutions nationwide recognized with this honor. (Dr. Agaian is a key member of this team)
  • 2008 Elected Foreign Member, National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Armenia
  • 2006 Elected SPIE Fellow, International Society for Optical Engineering, “in recognition of a distinguished and valuable contribution to the field of optical engineering
  • 2006 Certificate of Appreciation from the IEEE Educational Society Central New England Council for Recognition of “Orthogonal transform” Outstanding Presentations
  • 2005 Peter T. Flawn Professor, (In outstanding recognition contributions by a UTSA Faculty member)
  • 2005 Recipient of Influential Member of the School of Engineering, Tufts University, (students voting)
  • 2004 Eta Kappa Nu (HKN- the honor society for electrical and computer engineering), Member,
  • 2004 MAEStro Educator of the Year Award, From Society of Mexican American Engineers and Scientists, Inc. 30th Anniversary International Symposium and Career Fair, Austin, TX
  • 2001, Annual President Research Award, the College of Staten Island (The City University of New York, (CUNY))
  • 1977, 1983, and 1988, Armenian National Academy, Best Annual Research Scientist Awards

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-9) was last changed on Thursday, 23. June 2022, 07:26 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by