Barry Potter

Professor Barry Potter elected to Honorary Fellowship of the British Pharmacological Society#

Professor Barry Potter MAE FMedSci, member of the Chemical Sciences section of Academia Europaea, has been elected to an Honorary Fellowship of the British Pharmacological Society at a ceremony at the Royal Society of Biology, London on 6 December.

Honorary Fellows are elected for life in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service and include Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the Society. Professor Potter was elected on the basis of excellence in research, particularly in medicinal chemistry, including drug discovery and development.

Election announcement by the British Pharmacological Society

About Professor Barry Potter#

Barry Potter is Emeritus Professor of Medicinal & Biological Chemistry at Oxford and Fellow of University College. He studied chemistry at Oxford, with a DPhil on enzyme-catalyzed phosphoryl transfer and later a DSc for published work. After an Oxford postdoc and at the Max-Planck-Institute for Experimental Medicine in Göttingen he was Lecturer and Lister Institute Fellow at Leicester, moving to the Chair of Medicinal Chemistry at Bath and in 2015 returned to Oxford to the Department of Pharmacology.

Research interests are application of organic and medicinal chemistry to biology and medicine, mechanistic enzymology, cell signalling chemistry and anticancer drug discovery. He has published over 550 papers, is inventor of 45 US patents and has brought his drugs to many clinical trials with clinical benefit. He co-founded the spin-out company Sterix and was Director of Medicinal Chemistry and Chief Scientific Officer. He has won four interdisciplinary RSC medals, the RSC Medicinal Chemistry Endowed Lectureship, the GSK International Achievement Award, a European Life Science Award and the 2018 Tu Youyou Award and was elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences and Academia Europaea.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-3) was last changed on Monday, 15. May 2023, 22:07 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by