The 2021 annual member conference of Academia Europaea (AE) and Young academy of Europe (YAE)#


Click here for registration (

During the week of 11 October, the four classes - Humanities (Chair Poul Holm); Social and Societal Sciences (Chair Björn Wittrock); Exact Sciences (Chair Don Dingwell) and Life sciences (Chair Alex Verkhratsky) will organise [with their Section committees] and run four separate Class meetings online. The focus, will be on new members elected in 2020. But of course the Class sessions will be open for any member to “attend”. These Class sessions will include a welcome and short presentations by new members and also an outstanding keynote speaker(s)/ discussion session.

Download the class sessions programme(info) (18 August 2021)

The virtual only class sessions#

14th October 2021#

  • A1 Class session - Humanities

    The first part of the session is jointly with A2. The second part is Class A1 only - welcome to 2020 new members.
    Organizer: Prof. Poul Holm

  • Class A2 - Social and Societal Sciences

    The first part of the session is jointly with A1. Second part is Class A2 only - welcome to 2020 new members.
    Organizer: Prof. Björn Wittrock

    Host Contact for the joint session: Nils Olav Sæverås
    Host Contact for Class A1 only session: Nils Olav Sæverås
    Host Contact for Class A2 only session: Joanne D’Arcy

15th October 2021#

18th October 2021#

Those member intending to participate in any of the Class sessions must register via the main Barcelona conference website.

The (virtual) plenary conference sessions#

The plenary conference sessions will take place on 20th and 21st of October. The event will be open to all AE and YAE members.

There will be a programme of outstanding AE speakers:#

Roger Penrose (2020 Erasmus Medal winner and recent Nobel Laureate - Mathematics and Physics) will deliver the delayed 2020 Erasmus Lecture, Ole Petersen (AE Hon. Vice president, Cardiff Hub Director and AE Gold medallist - Physiology) will present the Gold medal Lecture.

Other keynote lectures will be given by Quentin Skinner (Balzan Prize winner - Social and European History), Mara Dierssen (Cognition, behaviour and health), Don Dingwell (Munich Hub Director, Hon. Vice president and trustee -Volcanology), and Susan Trumbore (Balzan prize winner – Carbon cycling in plants and soils).

There will also be a Young Academy Panel debate and the presentation of the YAE Andre Mischke Prize for 2021 to Grant Hill-Cawthorne, Director of the UK Parliamentary Office for Science and Technology (POST).

All members are welcome to register and participate. #

Members elected this year (2021) will be invited to come to Barcelona in 2022 for a normal physical conference.

Draft programme#

Wednesday, 20 October (PRBB Auditorium)#

StartEndActivityParticipantsTitle / Observations
10:3011:15Plenary sessions
(45 min. approx.)
10:30 10:40 Welcome to the AE/YAE Plenary virtual conference 2021Sierd Cloetingh
10:45 11:15Recap of Class meetings, including highlights of Section meetings and welcome of new MAEs (6-7 min. each Chair) Poul Holm
Björn Wittrock
Don Dingwell
Alexej Verkhratsky
11:1511:45Half-hour (coffee) break
11:45 13:15 Plenary sessions
(90 min. approx.)
11:45 12:25Erasmus Medal and Lecture
Introduction (5 min.)
Laudation (10 min.)
Medal lecture (25 min.)

Sierd Cloetingh
Martin Rees
Roger Penrose

Upside-Down: Revolutions in Physics, Old and New
(If possible, in person; if not, virtual/real-time)
12:3013:15AE 2020 Gold Medal
Laudation (10 min.)
Medal lecture (25 min.)
Q&A (10 min.)

Sierd Cloetingh
Ole Petersen]

“Science, Scientific Publishing and Scientific Advice for Policy: 50 years of personal experiences”
13:1515:00Lunch break
15:0016:30Plenary sessions
(90 min. approx.)
15:00 15:30 Balzan Prize Lecture I
Lecture (20 min.)
Q&A (10 min.)

Sierd Cloetingh
Susan Trumbore

“The Amazon and Global Change”
15:45 16:15 Barcelona 2021 speaker -1
Lecture (20 min.)
Q&A (10 min.)

Chair: Sierd Cloetingh
Don Dingwell

“Volcanism: from wonder and fear to experiment and intervention”
16:30 End day 1

Thursday, 21 October (PRBB Auditorium)#

9:3011:00Annual Business Meeting (hybrid) To be confirmed
11:0011:30(Half-hour coffee break)
11:30 13:00Plenary sessions
(90 min. approx.)
11:3011:40Welcome and introduction from the new AE PresidentMarja Makarow
11:45 12:15Balzan Prize Lecture II
Lecture (20 min.)

Björn Wittrock
Quentin Skinner

How should we think about freedom?
(Virtual, real-time lecture)
12:1513:00YAE Andre Mischke Prize
Laudation (5 min.)
Prize lecture (25 min.)
Q&A (10 min.)
Intro: Gemma Modinos
Laudatio: Marcel Swart or Alban Kellerbauer
Speaker TBA
Title TBA
13:0014:30Lunch break
14:30 16:00Plenary sessions
(120 min. approx.)
14:30 15:30YAE Panel
Chair introduction (10 min.)
Panelists intro (5 min. each x 4)
Q&A (30 min.)

Chair: Gemma Modinos
Panelists: Michael Murphy, Konstantinos Glinos, Rebecca Lawrence, Moniek Tromp

“Redefining Rewards & Recognitions for European Scholars”
15:4516:15Barcelona 2021 speaker -2
Lecture (20 min.)
Q&A (10 min.)

Chair: Eva Kondorosi
Mara Dierssen

“The mysteries of memory: how it is stored (the engram) and how it is retrieved (the ecphory). How to erase, manipulate or cure memory loss”
16:2016:30Close and farewell toast
from outgoing President Sierd Cloetingh
Sierd Cloetingh
16:30 End day 2
  • Tuesday, 19 October (late afternoon), at the Institute for Catalan Studies (IEC), c/Carme, 47, Barcelona. Annual Business Meeting for AE Members.
  • Wednesday, 20 October, at the Barcelona Biomedical Research Park (PRBB). c/Doctor Aiguader, 88, Barcelona. Morning: AE Class workshops. Afternoon: Lecture and Reception for new Members.
    In the evening, the President’s Dinner (optional, requiring a separate registration fee). Place to be determined.
  • Thursday, 21 October, at the PRBB. c/Doctor Aiguader, 88, Barcelona. AE Erasmus Medal lecture by Roger Penrose, the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy, and the 2021 International Adam Kondorosi AE Award for Advanced Research in Plant Sciences, plus a varied programme of leading European scholars’ lectures.
  • Friday, 22 October (all day). Traditional post-conference field trip (optional, requiring a separate registration fee). Includes guided tours, transportation and lunch. Place to be determined.

In addition, on Wednesday evening, the President’s Dinner for new and current members will take place, which, like the field trip, is optional and requires the payment of a separate registration fee.

Speakers include:#

2020 ERASMUS MEDAL and Lecture: Professor ROGER PENROSE, Laudation will be given by Martin Rees

Professor Eva KONDOROSI (Balzan Prize 2018 - Chemical Ecology)

Professor Quentin SKINNER (Balzan Prize 2006 - Political Thought, History and Theory)

2020 Andre Mischke Young Academy Prize to Grant Hill-Cawthorne


Distinguished lecture by Mara Dierssen, Barcelona

See you in Barcelona!#

Download the preliminary programme(info) (last updated 19 May 2021).

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-60) was last changed on Friday, 27. August 2021, 17:26 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by