Michael Berridge#

Michael Berridge
Email:michael.berridge 'at' bbsrc.ac.uk
Membership Number:459
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:UNITED KINGDOM
Homepage: http://www.biochemj.org/csb/mikeb.htm

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2003 Emeritus Babraham Fellow
  • 1996-2003 Head of Signalling, Babraham Institute
  • 1990-996 Deputy Chief Scientific Officer (Grade 4), Laboratory of Molecular Signalling, Babraham Institute
  • 1978-1990 Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Unit of Insect, Neurophysiology and Pharmacology, Cambridge
  • 1972-1978 Principal Scientific Officer, Unit of Invertebrate Chemistry and Physiology, Cambridge
  • 1969-1972 Senior Scientific Officer, Unit of Invertebrate Chemistry and Physiology, Cambridge University
  • 1967-1969 Research Associate, Case Western University
  • 1966-1967 Post-doctoral Fellow, Case Western Reserve University
  • 1965-1966 Post-doctoral Fellow, University of Virginia
  • 1965 PhD University of Cambridge

Fields of Scholarship
  • The role of calcium (Ca2+) in the mode of action of hormones and neurotransmitters
  • The role of inositol lipids in the action of calcium-mobilizing hormones
  • Agonists stimulation of lipid hydrolysis to release both diacylglycerol and inositol trisphosphate (IP3). *Spatiotemporal aspects of calcium signalling with particular emphasis on neural signalling, cardiac contractility and cell proliferation

Honours and Awards
  • 2007 Honorary Degree, University of Liverpool
  • 2005 The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine
  • 1999 Ernst Schering Prize (Ernst Schering Research Foundation, Berlin)
  • 1998 Knight Bachelor
  • 1998 Honorary Fellowship- Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge
  • 1996 The Massry Prize in Nephrology, Physiology and Related Fields (The Meira and Shaul G. Massry Foundation, USA)
  • 1995 The Wolf Foundation Prize in Medicine (Israel)
  • 1994 Honorary Professor of Cell Signalling (University of Cambridge)
  • 1994 Dr H P Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics
  • 1993 Degree of Doctor Honoris Causa (Limburgs Universitair Centrum, Belgium)
  • 1991 Royal Medal (The Royal Society)
  • 1991 CIBA-GEIGY/DREW Award in Biomedical Research
  • 1990 Rita Levi Montalcini Award Lecture (Fidia Research Foundation, Washington DC)
  • 1990 Dale Medal (Society for Endocrinology)
  • 1989 Member of the Academia Europaea
  • 1989 Baly Medal (Royal College of Physicians, London)
  • 1989 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award
  • 1988 Gairdner Foundation International Award
  • 1987 William Bate Hardy Prize (Cambridge Philosophical Society)
  • 1987 Abraham White Scientific Achievement Award (George Washington University School of Medicine)
  • 1986 The King Faisal International Prize in Science
  • 1986 Louis Jeantet Prize in Medicine
  • 1984 Feldberg Prize
  • 1984 Elected Fellow of The Royal Society

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-16) was last updated on Tuesday, 9. January 2018, 15:09 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by