Academia Europaea 29th Annual Conference 2017#

ADVANCE NOTICE of the 2017 Academia Europaea – ALLEA Joint Annual Conference, to be held in collaboration with the Young Academy of Europe (YAE) and the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Date: 4-6 September 2017
Venue: Budapest, Hungary

For the first time, we are jointly organising the meeting with ALLEA (the Association of ALL European National Academies). The topic (see title above) will be also linked with the new Horizon2020 funded SAPEA project (Scientific Advice for Europe), that we (AE) and ALLEA are partners in. The Young Academy of Europe will also be a co-organiser. We are grateful to the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, who will host the event.

The program and website will be launched in January 2017. There will be a registration fee for this event, at a discounted rate for AE and YAE members.

At the conference we will present the 2017 Erasmus Medal; a new AE senior prize in the field of Plant Sciences - The Adam Kondorosi Senior award and also a Gold medal to Helga Nowotny, for her service to European science policy. ALLEA will present their 2017 Madame de Stael prize. We will also award 10 Burgen Scholarships to young, unestablished researchers working in Hungary.

As usual there will be a dedicated 'New Members' presentation session to formally welcome our 2016 cohort during the programme.

Oxford University Press is delighted to offer conference delegates 30% discount on István Hargittai and Magdolna Hargittai’s recent book, Budapest Scientific. Simply click here, add the book to your shopping basket and apply the code ASPROMP8 to obtain the discount. This code will be valid until 30 September 2017.

Information for new members of Academia Europaea#

At the annual conference, new members of Academia Europaea will be welcomed. This is the preliminary schedule:

Monday 4 September - 13:35-13:55

Presentation of new AE members (ppt presentation). The welcoming “reception” of the new members of AE will take place on the 5th of September during the evening reception.

Tuesday 5 September - 19:00-21:00

Meet and greet social event and buffet reception for AE 2016 new members, Burgen Scholars, Council and Board members and prize winners.

All new members from 2016 will be contacted by the Executive Secretary to check on their attendance.




9:00-12:00CouncilClosed Business MeetingBoard
colspan="2" style="text-align:center" Lunch
14:00-16:00Annual Business MeetingClosed Business MeetingBoard

14:00-16:00Annual Business MeetingClosed Business MeetingBoard
16:30-18:30Opening of the joint meeting: Ceremonial Hall, HAS
Opening addresses (HAS: László Lovász; EU: XY; AE: Sierd Cloetingh; ALLEA: Günther Stock; YAE: Sven Bestman) (≈30 min) AE Erasmus Medal and ALLEA Prize ceremony: AE Gold Medal, Erasmus Medal, Kondorosi Prize, Honouring Arnold and Olga Burgen; ALLEA Madame van Stael Prize (≈45 min) Presentation of new members (video animations; ≈30 min) 18:30-19:00 19:00-22:00 Welcome reception – Academia Club, HAS
Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-12) was last updated on Thursday, 26. January 2017, 15:32 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by