Russian Prizes Scheme#

The scheme was launched in 1993 for young scientists and scholars in Russia, and now applies to young scholars from across the Federation.

Past sponsors include: The International Science Foundation, New York (Soros); Amersham International, UK; the Rayne Foundation, London; and the Danish Physical Society. In previous years additional sponsors have been the Robert Koch Microbiological Society, Heidelberg; and Mr T Mann of Cleveland. Current sponsors include: MAIKINTERPERIODIKA and ROBUSBUISNESSBANK.

The award consists of a medal, a certificate and a monetary award currently some US$1000. These prizes are given at a dedicated ceremony in Moscow.

Prizes are awarded in Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Earth Sciences, Medicine and the Humanities.

The scheme is supervised by a committee of Russian members of the Academia Europaea, and has been chaired since the start by Professor Vladimir Skulachev. Information about the scheme is advertised in appropriate newspapers and in universities. Initial proposals are sifted by the committee and the best are sent to international experts for assessment. About 25 prize winners are selected each year.

The scheme is highly regarded and attracts substantial local publicity.

Russian Prizes 2009
Laureates, Skulachev and Sponsors
Vladimir Skulachev (with the AE tie) runs the AE Russia Prizes scheme each year
Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-10) was last updated on Tuesday, 8. October 2013, 15:08 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by