

Curriculum Vitae Professor Dr. h. c. mult. Jörg Hacker

Version: July 2014

Name: Jörg Hinrich Hacker Born: February 13, 1952 in

Grevesmühlen/Mecklenburg

Marital status: Married to Dr. phil. Margit

Hacker, two children

Denomination: Lutheran



Academic and professional career

since 2010	President of the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina – German National Academy of Sciences, Halle (Saale)
2008 - 2010	President of the Robert Koch-Institute, Berlin
2006	Visiting Professor at the Sackler Institute for Advanced Studies, Tel Aviv University, Israel
2000, 2005	Research visits at the Institute Pasteur, Paris
1993 - 2008	Professor (C4) and Head of the Institute for Molecular Infection Biology, University of Würzburg
1988 - 1993	Professor (C3) for Microbiology, University of Würzburg
1986	Promotion to Professor, University of Würzburg
1980 - 1988	Research Assistant at the Department of Microbiology, Würzburg
1979	PhD (Biology), Martin-Luther-University of Halle (Saale)
1970 - 1974	Studies in Biology, Martin-Luther-University of Halle (Saale)

Other offers (declined)

2002	Professor for Microbiology, University of Jena, together with Head of Hans-Knöll-Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology
2001	Professor for Medical Microbiology, University of New South Wales (Australia)

1992	Professor for Microbiology, University of Tübingen
1992	Professor for Molecular Biology, University of Hamburg, together with Head of Bernhardt-Nocht-Institute for Tropical Medicine
1987	Professor for Genetics, University of Marburg
1986	Professor for Microbiology, University of Erlangen

Awards and prizes

2014	Honorary Citizenship Grevesmühlen/Germany
2012	Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art
2010	Honorary Professorship at the Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-University of Greifswald
2009	Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany ("am Bande")
2009	Honorary Senator of the University of Würzburg
2008	Prize of the Arthur-Burkhardt-Foundation for Promotion of Science
2008	Gay-Lussac-Humboldt-Science Award
2006	André-Lwoff-Award of the Federation of European Microbiological Societies (FEMS)
2001	Carus-Medal of the Leopoldina and Carus-Prize of the City Schweinfurt
1994	Main prize of the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology (DGHM)
1992	University medal of the University of Helsinki, Finland
1988	Academy prize of the Academy of Sciences at Göttingen
1985	Young scientist award of the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology

Honorary degrees

2012	Honorary Doctorate (Dr. phil. h.c.) awarded by the University of Tel Aviv, Israel
2009	Honorary Doctorate (Dr. of science h. c.) awarded by the University of Hyderabad, India
2004	Honorary Doctorate (Dr. med. h. c.) awarded by the University of Pécs, Hungary
2002	Honorary Doctorate (Dr. med. h. c.) awarded by the University of Umea, Sweden

Honorary memberships

2012 Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, Salzburg

2011	Foreign Scientific Member of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology Berlin and Scientific Member of the Max Planck Society
2010	Honorary member of the Kitasato Institute, Tokyo, Japan
2010	Member of the German Academy of Science and Engineering – acatech
2010	Member of the Indian National Science Academy, Delhi
2010	Member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
2010	Member of the Academia Europaea, London
2009	Member of the European Academy of Microbiology
2007	Honorary Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
2006	Member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences, Munich
2005	Fellow Sackler Institute for Advanced Studies, Tel Aviv University, Israel
2004	Member of the American Academy for Microbiology (AAM)
2003	Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)
2003	Member of the Academy of Sciences at Göttingen
1998	Member of the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina, Halle (Saale)
1995	Honorary Member of the Hungarian Society for Microbiology

Current functions in scientific societies and committees

since 2014	Member in the Foundation Board of the Carl Friedrich von Siemens Foundation
since 2014	Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Berlin Institute of Health (BIH)
since 2013	Member in the UN Scientific Advisory Board appointed by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon
since 2013	Member in the Scientific Advisory Board, Würzburg University
since 2013	Member in the Scientific Advisory Committee, Center for Environment, Health and Aging (CEREHA), Kiryat-Shmona/Israel
since 2012	Member in the Scientific Advisory Board of the Robert-Koch-Institute
since 2012	Member in the Scientific Advisory Board, Freie Universität Berlin
since 2012	Chairman of the Board of Trustees, German Science Journalists' Association
since 2011	Member in the Foundation Board of the Arthur-Burckhardt-Foundation (Chairman since 2014)
since 2011	Member in the Scientific Advisory Board, German Rheumatism Research Centre Berlin (DRFZ)
since 2010	Member of the Committee of the Excellence Initiative

since 2010	Member of the Innovation Dialog of the Chancellor of Germany
since 2009	Member in the Board of Trustees of the Max-Planck-Institute for Infectious Biology in Berlin
since 2008	Member in the Foundation Board of the Paul-Ehrlich-Foundation
since 2007	Member in the Scientific Council of the Institute Pasteur, Paris, France
since 2006	Member in the University Council of the University Marburg
since 2005	Member in the Scientific Advisory Board of the Umea Centre for Microbial Research (UCMR) at the University of Umea, Sweden
since 2004	Member in the Panel of the Thuringian Research Prize
since 1998	Member in the Scientific Advisory Board of the Robert-Koch-Foundation

Past functions in scientific societies and committees

2011	Member of the Ethics Commission "Safe Energy Supply" of the Chancellor of Germany
2010-2013	Member of the Industry-Science Research Alliance "Health" of the Federal Government of Germany
2007 - 2010	Member in the Senate of the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina, Halle (Saale)
2005 - 2013	Member in the Supervisory Board of the Helmholtz-Centre for Infectious Research mbH (HZI), Brunswick
2004-2013	Member in the Scientific Advisory Commitee of the Helmholtz-Centre for Infectious Research mbH (HZI), Brunswick
2003 - 2009	Vice President of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
2000 - 2003	Reviewer of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
1998 - 1999	President of the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology
1996 - 2007	Member in the Lynen Panel of the Alexander-von-Humboldt-Foundation

Memberships in editorial boards

since 2006	Faculty of 1000
2003 – 2007	Infection and Immunity
2000 – 2014	International Journal of Medical Microbiology
since 2000	Trends in Microbiology
since 2006	Current opinion in Microbiology
1998 – 2002	FEMS Microbiological Letters

1998 – 2002 FEMS Microbiological Reviews

2003 – 2009 Environmental Microbiology

Project coordination, membership in collaborative research projects (selection)

since 2010	Member in the German-Israeli project cooperation (DIP)
since 2007	Speaker of the project area "E. coli" in the network ERA-NET PathoGenoMics (European cooperation and coordination of genome sequencing und functional genome research on human pathogen microorganisms)
2006 - 2010	Member and vice speaker of the Transregio collaborative research centre 34 "Pathophysiology at Staphylococci", Universities Greifswald, Tübingen and Würzburg
2005 - 2010	Coordinator of the EU-Program EuroPathoGenomics (6. Framework Program of the EU, "Network of Excellence")
since 2004	Member in the collaborative research centre 630 of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
2001 - 2009	Co-coordinator of the BMBF-Program PathoGenoMik and PathoGenoMik Plus