PRESS RELEASE: 24 September 2018, London

ACADEMIA EUROPAEA ANNOUNCES THE AWARD OF A GOLD MEDAL to Robert-Jan Smits at their 30<sup>th</sup> anniversary celebration event, held today (24 September 2018), at the Royal Society of London.

The Board of Trustees of the Academia Europaea are pleased to announce that the Gold Medal has been awarded to Robert-Jan Smits, former Director-General for research and innovation of the European Commission.

**Citation:** This award is only rarely given, and is made "... to those members and non-members of the Academia and to organisations, in recognition of the contribution made to European science through inspiration, public support, management expertise or by financial means. "

The Board of trustees of the Academia Europaea are pleased to recognise the substantial and sustained contribution that Robert-Jan Smits has made to European Research and Innovation policy, notably through the development of the European Research Area and through the design and implementation of HORIZON 2020, the EU multi-billion science and innovation programme, aimed at supporting collaborative research between researchers from Europe and at global level.

A laudation was given by Professor Eva Kondorosi MAE, a trustee of the Academia Europaea and a Vice-president of the European Research Council and a recent winner of a 2018 Balzan Foundation prize.

\_\_\_\_\_

## **Background**

The Academia Europaea (AE) was formed in 1988. AE is the pan-European academy of science, humanities and letters, with a membership of almost 4000 eminent scholars, drawn from all countries of Europe, and all disciplines, nationalities and geographical locations. The AE today celebrates its 30<sup>th</sup> anniversary with a one-day event held at the Royal Society, in London. The Royal Society was a founder sponsor and long-time supporter of the AE, through the work of the then Foreign Secretary Sir Arnold Burgen FRS, who became the first President of the Academia Europaea.

The event has been graced by the presence of Sir Arnold and Lady Burgen (nee Kennard-also a founder member of the Academia Europaea) together with two other past Presidents (Professors Juergen Mittelstrass (Konstanz), and Lars Walloe (Oslo), the current AE President (Sierd Cloetingh, Utrecht), and in the presence of the President of the Royal Society Professor Venki Ramakrishnan (Cambridge) and 100 members and Fellows of the Academia Europaea and the Royal Society

Full information on the Academia Europaea, its regional knowledge hubs and the Young Academy of Europe, together with information about all individual AE members, AE events and activity can be found via the website at: <a href="https://www.ae-info.org">www.ae-info.org</a>



## **ACADEMIA EUROPAEA**

Room 251, Senate House University of London Malet Street London WC1E 7HU Tel: +44 (0) 207 862 5784 execsec@acadeuro.org www.ae-info.org

President: Professor Sierd Cloetingh Registered at Companies House: 7028223 Registered in England as a not-for-profit charity: 1133902 For more information about Robert-Jan Smits go to this link: <a href="https://ec.europa.eu/epsc/team/robert-jan-smits\_en">https://ec.europa.eu/epsc/team/robert-jan-smits\_en</a>

For information about the Royal society Contact the press office at the Royal Society, London

For information about the Academia Europaea contact the Executive Secretary at the address in this release.



## ACADEMIA EUROPAEA

Room 251, Senate House University of London Malet Street London WC1E 7HU Tel: +44 (0) 207 862 5784 execse@acadeuro.org www.ae-info.org

President: Professor Sierd Cloetingh Registered at Companies House: 7028223 Registered in England as a not-for-profit charity: 1133902