

# André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy 2020

Call for nominations

#### v. 1.1 2020-01-16

The Young Academy of Europe Prize is awarded annually to early to mid-career professionals in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions to key areas of the YAE. In 2019, the prize was renamed "**André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy**" in honor of the YAE Founding Chair, André Mischke. The prize is awarded to support and promote science, evidence-based policy-making, science communication, and future generation scientists and scholars in Europe.

#### 2020 Prize

Currently, the search committee is looking for nominations for the 2020 edition. Nominations should be sent to <u>yae-prize@yacadeuro.org</u> by **29 February 2020**, and should include **a short CV** (max. 2 pages) accompanied by **a short statement** (max. 1 page) describing key activities and providing evidence of relevant accomplishments for which the candidate is nominated for.

Nominations for the prize can be made by any individual or organization, not only members of the YAE!

#### Selection criteria and procedure

The **André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy** honours outstanding contributions and achievements that align with the core mission of the YAE. It is awarded on recommendation of the YAE Prize Search Committee and by decision of the YAE Board (see below). The YAE prize (EUR 1 000, contingent on sufficient available funds) will be officially awarded at the Annual Meeting of the YAE.

#### Eligibility

- 1. Candidates should be early-to mid career academics or professionals (e.g., 10–15 years after PhD) of any nationality, but who are working/have worked in Europe, or abroad at a European Institution.
- 2. The candidate is neither a YAE member nor a YAE alumna/alumnus.



#### General criteria for the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy

Candidates will have demonstrated at least one of the following:

- Important contributions to European science policy, by actively engaging with policy-makers in an attempt to influence science policy and contribute to the development of a European science agenda for the coming decades
- Important contributions to evidence-informed policy at the national or European levels
- Important contributions to science communication and citizen science, especially facilitating communication between scientists and scholars with the general public in Europe, with an emphasis on societal issues, quality of life and standards of living in Europe
- Important contributions to strengthening the solidarity and networking amongst exceptional young researchers and scholars in Europe to create a pool of information, pass on experience, give feedback, and provide active support to present and future colleagues across Europe

#### The Award

- The awardee will be invited to give the **André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy** lecture at the YAE Annual meeting following the award.
- The awardee will receive a cash prize of EUR 1 000.

#### Procedure for identifying candidate to receive the award

- All members of the YAE, European National Young Academies, Academia Europaea and other European (scientific) organizations are invited to nominate an outstanding candidate for the YAE prize. Self-nominations are also encouraged (except for YAE members and YAE Alumni).
- Nominations must provide the following:
  - Summary of key achievements (1 Page)
  - <sup>o</sup> Short CV (max 2 pages)
- The YAE Prize Search Committee will evaluate nominations, and the Awardee will be selected by a vote of the current elected Board of the YAE.



# YAE Prize Search Committee

The search committee for the 2020 edition of the **André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy** has two representatives for each of the three domains (Life Sciences; Physical Sciences and Engineering; Social Sciences and Humanities) and includes the Chair of the YAE Advisory Council.

#### Life Sciences

Gemma Modinos

Leif Schroeder

#### Physical Sciences and in Engineering

Nicole Grobert

Marcel Swart

#### Social Sciences and Humanities

Genoveva Martí

Jörg Peltzer

#### Advisory members

Anna von der Heydt

Alban Kellerbauer

Mangala Srinivas

# Young Academy of Europe



## YAE Prize 2017: Rianne Letschert



Prof. Letschert has had an outstanding academic career, working in the field of international law, with a focus on minority rights and human rights, and is now the Rector Magnificus (equivalent to Provost) of Maastricht University – the youngest female rector ever appointed at a Dutch university. She has been an active member of the Dutch Young Academy since 2013 (De Jonge Akademie), becoming its chairperson in 2015. In 2015, she was

appointed to the Identification Committee that assisted in selecting the members of the High Level Group at the heart of the Scientific Advice Mechanism. She is a vocal and active advocate of science communication for young people, and for promoting diversity. She has recently been awarded with the award for the "Top Female Role Model in Science" from Tilburg University. By awarding her the YAE Prize, YAE will make a clear statement in respect of the need to have excellent women academics present at the top of academic research, management, and policy making.

### YAE Prize 2018: Gabi Lombardo



Dr Lombardo is an expert in global research funding, research and education policies, and international higher education. She has high-level experience in the interface of strategy, policy, research and business. Her field of work accompanies strengthening connections across the university and beyond, within a complex field of external, and international stakeholders.

She holds an extensive record in the design and implementation of highly innovative projects, including public and private business investing in HE in the US, China and Europe. She has also a record of establishing multilateral institutional collaborations and university representative offices abroad. Dr Lombardo holds a senior level experience in strategic planning and 'foresight' planning in elite higher education institutions, international research funders and associations. She is a constant promoter of the value of the Social Sciences and Humanities from her position as the Director of The European Alliance for SSH, which is the largest science policy organization for SSH in Europe, and has a specific approach to give voice in the science policy debate to an international scientific community.

# Young Academy of Europe



## YAE Prize 2019: Janusz Bujnicki



Prof. Bujnicki is working in biology, with a focus on bioinformatics, structural biology and synthetic biology, and is head of a research group in the International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology (IIMCB) in Warsaw and at the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland. He has received numerous awards and distinctions for his scientific work.

Bujnicki has also been involved in various scientific organisations and bodies active in the area of science and policy, both in Poland and abroad. He is currently serving a second term in the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors (GCSA) within the Scientific Advice Mechanism for the European Commission.He is actively involved in representing Poland in the area of the science-for-policy advice as a member of the European Science Advisors Forum. His current efforts focus on establishing a science-for-policy advice system in Poland, with the involvement of the Polish Academy of Sciences and Polish universities.