!!!Joan A. Steitz
[{Image src='joan.jpg' caption='' height='200' alt='joan.jpg'}]
\\ \\
\\ \\
__Present and Previous Positions__
*1998 - present Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University	
*1996 - 1999 Chairman, Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University	
*1992 - 1998 Henry Ford II Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University	
*1991 - 2002 Scientific Director, Jane Coffin Child Fund for Medical Research	
*1986 - present Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Yale University	
*1978 - 1992 Professor, Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University	
__Fields of Scholarship__
__Honours and Awards__
*2021 Wolf Prize for "''for ground-breaking discoveries on RNA processing and its function''"
*2018 Lasker-Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science, Lasker Foundation
*2018 Luminary Award, World Affairs Council Connecticut
*2017 D.Sc (Hon) University of Connecticut
*2017 D.Sc (Hon) University of Oxford
*2016 Inaugural Fellow, ASCB
*2016 William Clyde DeVane Award for Teaching Excellence, Yale University
*2016 Excellence in Cancer Research Prize, Jonathan Kraft
*2015 Connecticut Medal of Science, Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE)
*2015 Herbert Tabor Award, American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
*2015 Biopolymers Murray Goodman Memorial Prize, American Chemical Society
*2015 Basic Science Award, Hope Funds for Cancer Research
*2014 Foreign Member, Royal Society of London
*2014 [Postdoctoral Mentoring Prize, Yale University|http://postdocs.yale.edu/faculty/mentoring]
*2013 Joseph Priestley Award, Dickinson College
*2013 Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science
*2013 EMD Millipore Alice C. Evans Award, American Academy of Microbiology
*2013 La grande médaille 2013 de l'Académie des sciences, Institut de France
*2012 D.Sc (Hon), Rockefeller University
*2012 The Pearl Meister Greengard Prize
*2011 D.Sc (Hon), University of Buenos Aires
*2011 The Robert J. and Claire Pasarow Foundation 23rd Annual Medical Research Award for Extraordinary Achievement in Cancer Research
*2011 D.Sc (Hon), Columbia University
*2010 D.Sc (Hon), Albany Medical College
*2009 Honorary Fellow of The New York Academy of Medicine
*2009 Harden Jubilee Medal, British Biochemical Society
*2009 D.Sc (Hon), Clarkson University
*2008 D.Sc (Hon), University of British Columbia
*2008 Connecticut Women's Hall of Fame
*2008 New York Academy of Medicine Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Biomedical Science
*2008 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research (shared with E. Blackburn)
*2006 Rosalind E. Franklin Award for Women in Science, National Cancer Institute
*2006 Gairdner Foundation International Award
*2005 Doctor Honoris Causa, Paul Sabatier University, Toulouse, Fr
*2005 Honorary Member of Phi Beta Kappa, Yale Chapter
*2005 Member, Institute of Medicine
*2005 E.B.Wilson Medal, American Society for Cell Biology
*2004 D.Sc (Hon), Watson School of Biological Sciences, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
*2004 The Howard Taylor Ricketts Award, University of Chicago
*2004 The Caledonian Research Foundation Prize Lectureship 2004, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Edinburgh and Dundee, Scotland
*2004 The RNA Society Lifetime Achievement Award
*2003 FASEB Excellence in Science Award
*2003 D.Sc (Hon), Brown University
*2003 D.Sc (Hon), Princeton University
*2002 Thirty-First Annual Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award
*2002 D.Sc (Hon), Brandeis University
*2002 Member Academia Europaea
*2002 Honorary Member, Japanese Biochemical Society
*2001 L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards
*1999 Novartis-Drew Award in Biomedical Research
*1996 Distinguished Service Award, Miami Bio/Technology Winter Symposium
*1996 City of Medicine Award, Durham, NC
*1994 Weizmann Women and Science Award
*1993 Rebecca Rice Award for Distinguished Achievement, Antioch College Alumni Association
*1992 Christopher Columbus Discovery Award in Biomedical Research
*1992 Member of the American Philosophical Society
*1992 D.Sc. (Hon), Trinity College
*1992 D.Sc. (Hon), Harvard University
*1992 The Eleventh Annual Keith Porter Lecturer on Cell Biology, American Society for Cell Biology
*1992 Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology
*1990 D. Sc. (Hon), Bates College
*1989 Fritz Lipmann Lecturer, American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
*1989 D.Sc. (Hon), Mt. Sinai School of Medicine
*1989 Warren Triennial Prize (co-recipient with T. R. Cech)
*1988 Dickson Prize for Science (Carnegie-Mellon University)
*1987 Radcliffe Graduate Society Medal for Distinguished Achievement
*1987 Associate Member, European Molecular Biology Organization
*1986 National Medal of Science
*1986 Member, Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering
*1984 D.Sc. (Hon), University of Rochester School of Medicine
*1983 Member of the National Academy of Sciences
*1983 Lee Howley, Sr. Award for Arthritis Research (shared with J.A. Hardin and M.R. Lerner)
*1982 Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
*1982 U.S. Steel Foundation Award in Molecular Biology 
*1981 D.Sc. (Hon), Lawrence University
*1981 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
*1976 The Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry
*1975 The Passano Foundation Young Scientist Award
\\ \\


[{Image src='User/paper_content_pencil_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Curriculum Vitae |User/Steitz_Joan/CV]
[{Image src='User/book_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Publication list|User/Steitz_Joan/Publications]
[{Image src='User/camera_noflash_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Highlights of my work and anecdotes|User/Steitz_Joan/Highlight]
[{Image src='User/database_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Other information|User/Steitz_Joan/OtherInformation]

[{ALLOW view All}]
[{ALLOW edit jsteitz}]
[{ALLOW upload jsteitz}]

[{ALLOW comment All}]