Luis A. ORO

Born: June, 13, 1945. Zaragoza, Spain.
Address: Department of Inorganic Chemistry - ISQCH, University of Zaragoza - C.S.I.C. Zaragoza 50009 (Spain).
Telephone: 34 976 761143   E-mail:

Graduated in Chemistry from University of Zaragoza, 1967.
Doctor of Sciences, University of Zaragoza, 1970.
Postdoctoral studies in coordination and organometallic chemistry at Leiden (1971, Kamerling Onnes Laboratorium) and Cambridge (1972-73, University  Chemical Laboratory).

__Appointments at the Spanish Universities:__

2015-present Emeritus Professor, University of Zaragoza.
1982-2015 Chair Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, University of  Zaragoza.
2004-2013 Head of the “Instituto Universitario de Catálisis Homogénea”.
1981-82	Chair Professor of Chemistry, University of Santander.
1976-81	Associate Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, Universities of Madrid and Zaragoza.
1973-76	Lecturer of Chemistry, University of Zaragoza.

__Visiting Professorships:__
*2012   		Visiting Professor, University of Münster, Germany                 
*2010-2018 	        Visiting Chair Professor, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, KSA
*2004			Visiting Professor, University of Strasbourg, France	
*2000			Visiting Professor, University of Bordeaux, France
*1997 and 1996	        Humboldt Awarded Visitor, University of Würzburg, Germany
__Academies Membership__
*2018                   Academia das Ciencias de Lisboa, Corresponding Member                    
*2017                   Royal Academy of Medicine of Zaragoza, Honorary Member 
*2007			Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Honorary Member
*2006			German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, National Academy of Sciences
*2003			European Academy of Sciences
*2002			“Académie des Sciences” of France, Foreign Member
*1994			Academia Europaea
*1994			New York Academy of Sciences
*1982			Royal Academy of Sciences of Zaragoza.
__Selected Professional Appointments__

*2016-present Member of the Governing Council of the State Research Agency.
*2012-2017    Member of the Spanish Science, Technology and Innovation Council.
*2009-present Series Editor de Topics in Organometallic Chemistry.
*2009-2016    Co-chairman of the Editorial Board of ChemCatChem.
*2004-2017    Vice-president of Zaragoza Knowledge Foundation.
*2002-2020    President of the Chemistry Europe Partnership (European Journals of Inorganic and Organic Chemistry,        ChemCatChem and ChemPhotoChem).
*2008-2011    President of the European Chemical Society (EuChemS).
*2008-2013    Member of National Commission of Research Activity Evaluation.
*2005-2012    Scientific Council of the Spanish Foundation for Science and Technology.
*2005-2011    Program committee member of the Millennium Science Initiative, Government of Chile.
*2004-2013    Head of the “Instituto Universitario de Catálisis Homogénea”.
*2000-2005    President of the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry.
*1997-2002    Coordinator of the Iberoamerican Network on Homogeneous Catalysis.
*1993-1998    Vice-President of the European Science Foundation (ESF).
*1997-1998    Member of the European Science and Technology Assembly (EU).
*1993-1995    Science Policy Committee, OECD.
*1988-1994    Secretary General of the National Plan of Scientific Research and Technological Development.
*1987-1988    Director General of Scientific and Technical Research, Ministry of Education and Science.
__R&D Activities:__
\\ \\
Well over 650 publications on:
*Preparation, structure and reactivity of organometallic and coordination complexes.
*Homogeneous catalysis by complexes of rhodium, iridium, ruthenium and osmium, in reactions of hydrogenation, hydrogen transfer, hydroformylation, hydrosilylation and C-H activation.
*Molecular architecture, cluster chemistry and polymetallic reactivity, particularly rhodium and iridium complexes with bridging ligands containing N, P, O or S donor atoms. 
Co-author of a book on "Homogeneous Hydrogenation" (with P.A. Chaloner, M.A. Esteruelas y F. Joó, Kluwer Pub., Dordrecht, The Netherlands, 1994) and an introductory book on Chemistry (1997). Co-editor of books on "Iridium Catalysts for Organic Reactions" (with C. Claver, Springer-Nature, 2020), on “Iridium Complexes in Organic Transformations” (with C. Claver, Wiley-VCH, 2008), on "Metal Clusters in Chemistry" (with P. Braunstein y P.R. Raithby, 1798 pgs, Wiley-VCH, 1999) and on Homogeneous Catalysis (in Spanish, 2000). Invited editor of an special issue of Coordination Chemistry Reviews entitled "Molecular Inorganic Chemistry in Spain" (Coord. Chem. Rev., 193-195, 1-1169, 1999).
\\ \\	
Co-author of two patents in the field of homogeneous catalysis.
\\ \\	
Series Editor of Topics in Organometallic Chemistry. Member of several Advisory Committees and Scientific Societies. He is, or has been, member of the Editorial Advisory Board of several international journals such as Angewandte Chemie, European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry or Organometallics and Co-chairman of the Editorial Board of ChemCatChem.
\\ \\
He has been named "Highly Cited Researcher" in the field of Chemistry by ISI Web of Knowledge 
\\ \\	
He has been the Chairman of the VI European Research Conference on Inorganic Chemistry (2000) and the XXII International Conference on Organometallic Chemistry (2006). Cochairman of the 13th International Symposium on Homogeneous Catalysis (2002) and the Symposium on Mechanisms in Homogeneous Catalysis (2003). He has given over 300 invited talks and several named lectureships, and mentored well over one hundred PhD graduate and postdoctoral students.
\\ \\
Author of various papers and two books in the area of research and science policy. A representative book on this activity is: "El Sistema Español de Ciencia y Tecnología: Evolución y Perspectivas" (with A. Lafuente, 135 pgs. Fundesco, 1992).
\\ \\
__Selected Awards (from 1989):__
*2019   Doctor Honoris Causa, Universidad Complutense de Madrid.
*2019   Doctor Honoris Causa, Universidad San Jorge, Zaragoza.
*2018   Lord Lewis Prize, Royal Society of Chemistry, U.K. 
*2015   Doctor Honoris Causa, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
*2015   Honorary Fellow of ChemPubSoc Europe
*2015   Lorenço-Madinaveitia Award
*2014   EuChemS Award
*2014   ICIQ Serratosa Medal   
*2013   Aragonia Prize
*2008	Schulich Lecturership, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
*2007	National Research Prize for Chemistry “Enrique Moles”
*2007	Research Prize and Gold Medal of the Royal Spanish Society of Chemistry
*2007	Honorary member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
*2007	Zaragoza Gold Medal
*2006	Member of the German Academy of Sciences LEOPOLDINA
*2005	Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Rennes 1
*2003	Named "Highly Cited Researcher" in the field of Chemistry by ISI Web of Knowledge
*2003	Sacconi Medal
*2003	Member of the European Academy of Sciences 
*2003	Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Invited Fellow
*2002	Foreign Member of the “Académie des Sciences”, France
*2002	Elhuyar-Goldschmidt Lecturership (GDCh)
*2002	Fellow of the World Innovation Foundation
*2002	Lectureship Award, Taiwan Chemical Research Promotion Center
*2001	Betancourt-Perronet Prize
*2001	Aragón Prize
*1999	King Jaime I Research Prize
*1998	Pacific North West Inorganic Lectureship
*1997	Catalan-Sabatier  Prize (SFC)
*1995	HUMBOLDT Forschungspreise
*1994	Encomienda de Número de la Orden del Mérito Civil
*1994	Member of the ACADEMIA EUROPAEA, London
*1989	SOLVAY Prize