!!!Lelio Orci
[{Image src='Orci.gif' caption='' height='200' alt='Lelio Orci'}]%%
Homepage:%%(margin-left:30px;) %%
\\ \\
\\ \\
__Present and Previous Positions__
*Distinguished Professor in the Department of Cell Physiology and Metabolism in the college of Medicine in Geneva University
*2004 Emeritus Professor, University of Geneva Medical School, Geneva, Switzerland
*1972-2002 Chair of the Department of Geomorphology at the Medical School of Geneva University 
*1967-1973 assistant professor at the Institute of Histology and Embryology, University of Geneva Medical Centre
__Fields of Scholarship__
*Cell biology
*Islets of Langerhans
*Ultrastructure and immunocytochemistry of beta cells
*Insulin synthesis
__Honours and Awards__
*King Faisal International Prize for Medicine
*Honorary doctorate from the University of Levant in Belgium 
*Honorary doctorate from the Universities of McGill and Guelph in Canada
*Member of the European Academy of Science
*Member of the the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences
*Member of the the US National Academy of Science
*Honorary Member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 
*Member of the Italian Diabetes Society 
*Member of the Argentine’s Physiological Society
*Order of Commander of Honor by the Italian Government
*1973 – Minkowski Prize (European Association for the Study of Diabetes)
*1977 – Nessim Habif Prize
*1979 – Fernand Tissot Prize
*1978 – Mack-Foster Award (European Society for Clinical Investigation)
*1978 – David Rumbough Award (American Juvenile Diabetes Foundation)
*1981 – Banting Medal (American Diabetes Association)
*1983 – Dale Medal (Society for Endocrinology)
*1985 King Faisal International Prize for Medicine
*1986 Otto Naegeli Prize for Medicine
*1986 Special Golgi Award (European Association for the Study of Diabetes)
*1987 Morgagni Medal (G.B. Morgagni International Prizes)
*1991 Elliot P. Joslin Award (Massachusetts Affiliate of the American Diabetes Association)
*1998 Member of the Senate of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences
*1998 Foreign Member of National Academy of Sciences
*1999 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
*2000 Lucien Dautrebande Triennial Prize (The Physiopathology Foundation)
*2007 Honorary Fellow of the European Association for Diabetes Research
*2007 Leon Lombarti Prize
*The Lelio Orci Award for advances in cell biology was established in 2015
\\ \\


[{Image src='User/paper_content_pencil_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Curriculum Vitae |User/Orci_Lelio/CV]
[{Image src='User/book_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Publication list|User/Orci_Lelio/Publications]
[{Image src='User/camera_noflash_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Highlights of my work and anecdotes|User/Orci_Lelio/Highlight]
[{Image src='User/database_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Other information|User/Orci_Lelio/OtherInformation]

[{ALLOW view All}]
[{ALLOW edit lorci}]
[{ALLOW upload lorci}]

[{ALLOW comment All}]