!!!Lorenzo Moretta
[{Image src='LMoretta.png' caption='' height='200' alt='Lorenzo Moretta'}]%%
Homepage:%%(margin-left:23px;) [http://www.cebr.unige.it/units_det.php?Id_Unit=8]%%
\\ \\
\\ \\
\\ \\
__Present and Previous Positions__
*2009	President Elect, European Federation of Immunological Societies (EFIS)
*since 2000 Scientific Director, Istituto Giannina Gaslini, Genova
*since 1994 Full Professor of General Pathology, University of Genova
*1994-2000	Director of Immunopathology Laboratories, National Cancer Research Institute, Genova
*1991-1994	Temporary Full Professor of Immunology, University of Turin, Novara
*1990-1991	Temporary Full Professor of General Pathology, University of L’Aquila
*1984-1989	Associate Professor of Immunopathology, University of Genova. Director of Immunopathology Laboratories, Cancer Research Institute, Genova
*1980-1984	Director of Clinical Immunology Laboratories,   Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Lausanne, Switzerland
*1975-1977	Visiting Scientist, Dept. of Pediatrics and Microbiology, Cancer Center, University of Alabama, Birmingham, USA
*1972-1980	Assistant, Institute of Microbiology, University of Genova
__Fields of Scholarship__
*Discovery of the first inhibitory and of the first activating NK receptors
__Honours and Awards__
*1989 Lyon’s Prize for the best Italian contribution to Immunology/Oncology (co-winner Robin Foà) (Giardini Naxos, Italy)
*1998	Cancer Research Institute W.B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic and Tumor Immunology (co-winners K. Kärre and R. Steinman) (New York)
*1998	Biotec Award for outstanding contribution to Biotechnology-oriented research in Italy (co-winners A. Mantovani, E. Pinna) (Siena)
*1999	The 2nd PISO International Prize for Research (co-winner A.S. Fauci) (Cagliari)
*2000	Invernizzi Prize for major advances in Medicine (Milan)
*2000 San Salvatore Prize 2000 for excellence in Biomedical research in Immunology and Oncology (Lugano)
*2001	Yvette Mayent Prize, Institut Curie (co-winners K. Kärre, A. Moretta) for their work on the natural killer cells of the immune system (Paris)
*2001	Novartis Award for Basic Immunology (co-winners    K. Kärre, Wayne Yokoyama) (Stockholm)
*2001	Liguria Region Prize for fundamental contribution to scientific research (Genova, Italy)
*2002	Galeno Prize for outstanding University Career (Milan)
*2003	Cristoforo Colombo Medal for scientific merits (Genova)
*2004 Highly Cited Scientists Award, University of Genova, Genova, Italy
*2006 “Guido Venosta” Prize for excellence in Cancer Research (FIRC/AIRC Foundation) (Rome)
*2011 “Delfini D’Argento” Award (Cascina, Pisa)
*Memberships (by invitation):
**2000	Academia Europaea
**2003	European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)
**2003	Gruppo 2003 (highly cited scientists)
**2009	Accademia dei Lincei
**2006	“Commendatore” of the Italian Republic for excellence in science (Rome)
\\ \\


[{Image src='User/paper_content_pencil_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Curriculum Vitae |User/Moretta_Lorenzo/CV]
[{Image src='User/book_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Publication list|User/Moretta_Lorenzo/Publications]
[{Image src='User/camera_noflash_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Highlights of my work and anecdotes|User/Moretta_Lorenzo/Highlight]
[{Image src='User/database_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Other information|User/Moretta_Lorenzo/OtherInformation]

[{ALLOW view All}]
[{ALLOW edit lmoretta}]
[{ALLOW upload lmoretta}]

[{ALLOW comment All}]