!!!George Klein
[{Image src='georg_klein_webb.jpg' caption='Stefan Zimmerman' height='200' alt='George Klein'}]%%
\\ \\
\\ \\
George Klein passed away December 10, 2016.
\\ \\
__Positions Held__
*1993 Research Group Leader, Microbiology and Tumor Biology Center, Karolinska Institute
*1993 Professor emeritus of Tumour Biology at the Department of Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biology, Karolinska Institute
*1957-1993 Professor of Tumor Biology and Head of Department of Tumor Biology, Karolinska Institute
*1951-1957 Assistant Professor of Cell Research 
*1947-1949 Research Fellow, Karolinska Institute
*1946 Instructor in pathology, Budapest University
*1945 Instructor in histology, Budapest University
__Fields of Scholarship__
__Honours and Awards__
*1966 Honorary Doctor, University of Chicago
*1989 Honorary Doctor, Hebrew University, Jerusalem
*1991 Honorary Doctor, University of Nebraska
*1994 Honorary Doctor, Tel Aviv University 
*2001 Honorary Doctor of Medical Science, Osaka University
*1957-1993 Member of the Nobel Assembly of Karolinska Institutet 
*1999 Titular member of the European Academy of Sciences, Arts and Humanities
*1999 Academy of Cancer Immunology
*2002 Honorary Fellowship of the European Association for Cancer Research
*Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
*Foreign Member of the Finnish Scientific Society
*Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States
*Honorary Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
*Honorary Member of the American Association of Immunologists
*Foreign Member of the American Philosophical Society
*Honorary Member of the French Society of Immunology
*Honorary Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
*Honorary Member of the American Association for Cancer Research
*Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Ludwig Institute
*1960 Bertha Goldblatt Teplitz Award together with Eva Klein
*1967 Prize of the Danish Pathological Society
*1972 Rabbi Shai Shacknai Prize in Tumor Immunology
*1973 Bertner Award
*1973 Annual Award of the American Cancer Society
*1974 Prix Griffuel
*1975 Harvey Prize 
*1976 Gardner Award
*1977 Behring Prize
*1978 Björken Prize
*1979 Sloan Prize from the General Motors Cancer Research Foundation
*1979 Award of the Santa Chiara Academy, Italy
*1983 Erik Fernström Prize (with Eva Klein)
*1983 Anniversary Prize of the Swedish Medical Association
*1989 The Letterstedt Prize of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
*1990 Dobloug Prize of the Swedish Academy of Literature
*1990 Lisl and Leo Eitinger's Prize of Oslo University
*1995 Dr Tovi Comel-Walerstein C.A.I.R Institute Science Award for 1995 (Bar-Ilan University, Israel)
*1996 Thomas P. Infusino Prize and Lectureship in Cancer Causation and Epidemiology (together with Eva Klein).
*1996 Kaposi Award
*1996 Chester Stock Award of Sloan Kettering Memorial Center
*1998 Orden Nacional al Mérito de la República de Colombia
*1998 Robert Koch gold medal 
*1998 Institute of Human Virology, Lifetime Achievement Award
*1999 Prize of the Brupbacher Foundation, Zürich
*2001 Paracelsus medal
*2001 The Wick R. Williams Memorial Lecture Award
*2002 Ingemar Hedenius Prize 
*2005 G.J. Mendel honorary medal for merit in the biological sciences
*2006 IARC medal of honour 
*2008 Herbert J. Block Memorial Lectureship Award at the Ohio State University 
*2009 Biomedicum medaljen, Helsinfors,Finland
*2010 KI:s Jubileumsmedalj 
*2010 Royal Award of The Swedish Academy 
*2010 Distinguished Professor Award Karolinska Institute 
\\ \\


[{Image src='User/paper_content_pencil_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Curriculum Vitae |User/Klein_George/CV]
[{Image src='User/book_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Publication list|User/Klein_George/Publications]
[{Image src='User/camera_noflash_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Highlights of my work and anecdotes|User/Klein_George/Highlight]
[{Image src='User/database_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Other information|User/Klein_George/OtherInformation]

[{ALLOW view All}]
[{ALLOW edit gklein}]
[{ALLOW upload gklein}]

[{ALLOW comment All}]