!!!Donald B. Dingwell
[{Image src='dingwell_donald2_small.jpg'  alt='Donald B. Dingwell' height='200'}]
Homepage:%%(margin-left:23px;)[http://www.en.mineralogie.geowissenschaften.uni-muenchen.de/personen/chair/dingwell/index.html] %%
\\ \\
__Present and Previous Positions__
*2011-2013 3rd Secretary General - European Research Council
*2008-2011  Appointed Research Professor for Experimental Volcanology (LMUExcellent program of the Bundesexzellentinitiative) 
*2004-2005  Dean of the Faculty of Geosciences, LMU Munich   
*2002-present  founding Director - Department for Earth and Enviromental Sciences - University of Munich
*2000-present  Chair of Mineralogy and Petrology and Head of the Institute of Mineralogy, Petrology and Geochemistry, University of Munich   
*1992 Dr. rer.nat.habil. Geochemistry, University of Bayreuth
*1991-2000 Scientific Manager (geschäftsführender Mitarbeiter), Bayerisches Forschungsinstitut für Experimentelle Geochemie und Geophysik (Bayerisches Geoinstitut), Uni Bayreuth
*1987-1991 Deputy Director (wiss. Assistent) - Bayerisches Forschungsinstitut für Experimentelle Geochemie und Geophysik (Bayerisches Geoinstitut), Universität Bayreuth
*1986-1987 Assistant Professor (Tenure-Track) - Earth and Planetary Sciences - University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada
*1984-1986  Carnegie Postdoctoral fellow - Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Washington, D.C., USA 
*1980-1984  Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council 1967 Science Scholar - The University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
*1980 Senior Field Assistant - Department of Mines and Energy, Newfoundland
*1979 Explorationist - Esso Resources Offshore Drilling Office, St. John's, Newfoundland
*1978 Explorationist - Esso Resources Frontier Office, Calgary, Alberta
*1977 Operator/Technician, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), Corner Brook, Newfoundland
*1976 Announcer/Operator, CBC, Corner Brook, Newfoundland
__Fields of Scholarship__
*Experimental geosciences
*Volcanic propcesses
*Mineralogy, petrology
__Honours and Awards__
*Elected member of the German National Academy of Sciences - LEOPOLDINA (2017)
*GUTENBERG Research Fellow (2017-2021) University of Mainz
*Arthur DAY Medal – Geological Society of America (2016)
*elected President of the International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earths Interior (IAVCEI)(2015-2019)
*American Geophysical Union Development Board (2015-)
*Canada First Research Excellence Fund Selection Board (2015-2016)
*PEACOCK Medal of the Mineralogical Association of Canada (2015)
*Appointed to the Executive Committee of the Deep Carbon Observatory (2014)
*Appointed to the Board of the Academia Europaea (2014-2016)
*Capital Science Evening Lecture (Washington D.C.) (2014)
*Otto SCHOTT Research Award – Ernst-Abbe-Fonds (2014)
*Elected to the German National Academy of Science and Engineering – ACATECH (2013)
*Norman Levi BOWEN Award of the American Geophysical Union (2013)
*Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany - Bundesverdienstkreuz (2013)
*D.Sc. (honoris causa) – bestowed by University College London (2012)
*D.Sc. (honoris causa) – bestowed by the University of Alberta, CA (2012)
*AAAS Topical Lecturer – Vancouver, CA (2012)
*Named 3rd Secretary General of the European Research Council (2011)
*Elected to the Royal Society of Canada (2010)
*Elected President of the European Geosciences Union (2011-2013)
*Senior Associate – Rachel Carson Center – LMU (2010-)
*European Research Council Advanced Researcher Award (2010-2011, 2014-2017*) (*suspended 9/2011-12/2013 for term as Secretary General of the ERC)
*Elected as Union Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (2009)
*Named as founding member of the Center for Advanced Studies – LMU (2008-)
*Chair of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section of the Academia Europaea (2008-)
*Distinguished Lecturer of the Mineralogical Society of America (2008/09)
*Bunsen Medal of the European Geoscience Union (2008)
*ISI Highly Cited Researcher (world´s most cited authors, 2004)
*Fellow of the Geological Association of Canada (1998)
*Lansdowne Lecturer of the University of Victoria (1997)
*MSA Award - Mineralogical Society of America (1996)
*Fellow of the Mineralogical Society of America (1995)
*NSG Distinguished Scholar - Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam (1994)
*Gerhard-Hess-Research Prize of the German Science Foundation (DFG) (1993-98)
*Victor-Moritz-Goldschmidt-Prize of the German Mineralogical Society (DMG) (1991)
*AGU Editors' Citation for Excellence in Refereeing - Journal of Geophysical Research (1989)
*Carnegie Institution of Washington Fellowship (1984-1986)
*NATO Postdoctoral Fellowship (1984-86)
*NSERC 1967 Science Scholarship (1980)
*University Medal for Academic Excellence (1980)
\\ \\


[{Image src='User/paper_content_pencil_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Curriculum Vitae |User/Dingwell_Donald/CV]
[{Image src='User/book_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Publication list|User/Dingwell_Donald/Publications]
[{Image src='User/camera_noflash_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Highlights of my work and anecdotes|User/Dingwell_Donald/Highlight]
[{Image src='User/database_48.png' class='image_left'}]
-->[Other information|User/Dingwell_Donald/OtherInformation]

[{ALLOW view All}][{ALLOW edit ddingwell}][{ALLOW upload ddingwell}][{ALLOW comment All}]