!!Klaus Bock - Curriculum Vitae
*M.Sc. in Civilengineering (Chemistry) 1968.\\
*Ph.D (Lic.techn.) in Organic Chemistry 1970 The Technical University of Denmark with Professor Chr. Pedersen “Reactions of Unsaturated Sugars with Hydrogen Halides”.\\
\\ \\
a) 1970-1972 Assistant Professor, Department of Organic Chemistry, Technical University of Denmark, DK-2800 Lyngby, Denmark\\
b) 1972-1988 Associate Professor (Lecturer) Department of Organic Chemistry, Technical University of Denmark DK-2800 Lyngby, Denmark\\
c) 1974-1975 Visiting Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, U.B.C. Vancouver, B.C. Canada\\
d) 1977 Sep. Visiting Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany Invited by DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst)\\
e) 1979 Visiting Professor, Centre de Recherches sur le Macromolecules Vegetales, Universite de Grenoble, Grenoble, France. Invited by: Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (june-July)\\
f) 1979, May Visiting Professor, Department of Chemistry University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada\\
g) 1981 Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research, Visiting Scientist, Department Chemistry, University of Alberta, Canada (May- July)\\
h) 1982 Visiting Scientist National Research Council Canada, Division of Biological Sciences, Ottawa,Canada (August)\\
i) 1984 Visiting Scientist National Research Council Canada, Division of Biological Sciences, Ottawa, Canada (March)\\
j) 1988 Sep- Professor, Head of Chemistry Department, Carlsberg Laboratory, Valby, Copenhagen Denmark\\
k) 1992-99 Research Director, Carlsberg Research Center\\
l) 1999 Jan- Group Vice President for Research, Carlsberg A/S\\
m) 2001-04 Executive Vice President, Carlsberg A/S\\
n) 2004- 07 Vice President, Research Director, Carlsberg A/S
\\ \\
*1979: Ole Roemer, Research Award
*1986: International Carbohydrate Award in Honor of Roy L. Whistler
*1992: Alexander von Humboldt Research Award
*1994: Bjerrum, Brønsted, Lang Lecture, Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
*2000: Danish Natural Science Academy, Industrial Award.
*2006: Samuel Friedman Foundation Rescue Award, UCLA
*2006: G.A. Hagemann, Gold Medal from DTU.
*2009: Knighted by Her Majesty the Queen of Denmark
*Danmarks Naturvidenskabelige Akademi (DNA) 1982-
*Danish Academy of Technical Sciences (ATV) 1989-, President from 2009-2011
*The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, 1990-
*Fellow of The Royal Society of Chemistry (London), 1991-
*Foreign member of The Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (2005-
*Academia Europaea, 2016-
\\ \\
Have published 261 papers in international journals with referee within the area of analytical and synthetic carbohydrate chemistry with special emphasis of the application of NMR spectroscopy in structural studies of carbohydrate derivatives and their interaction with enzymes. Recent interests have focused on protein-carbohydrate interactions, particularly the synthesis and structural analysis of glycopeptides. The publications have resulted in a h-index of 49 and with 10672 citations.
\\ \\
__International Committees:__
*August 1986-2000, Chairman for the Board of Overseers for the Organization behind CARBBANK, a structural database for complex carbohydrate structures.
*1992-95 Member of the Advisory Panel for Collaborative Research Grants Programme of NATO, Bruxelles.
*Member of the International Scientific Advisory Board of the Bijvoet School for Biomolecular Chemistry. (1996-2003)
*Member of the Board of Directors for the Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research (SSF) programme “Glycoconjugates in Biological Systems (GLIBS)” 1996-2004
*Member of the International Advisory Committee of NCE Canada, 2006-2007
*Member of the Network of Centres of Excellence Standing Selection Committee, Canada, 2010-
*Champion of Euroscience Open Forum (ESOF) 2014 in Copenhagen.
*Council member, European Research Council, 2013- , vice president Physical and Engineering domain, 2016-.
__Danish Memberships:__
*Member of the Board of T. Holm’s Foundation (1986-)
*Chairman of the Kaj Linderstrøm Lang's Gold Medal Foundation. (1988-2007)
*Member of the Board of The Emil Chr. Hansen's Foundation (1988-2007)
*Member of The Danish Academy of Technical Sciences, Industrial Research Fellowship Committee (1993-1999)
*Member of the Board of Trustees of A. Tovborg Jensen’s Foundation (1994-2004)
*Member of the Board of Pharmexa A/S (1997-2003), Deputy chairman from august 2000-2003)
*Member of the Steering Group of “NeuroScience. A Drug Research Centre” (1997-2001)
*Head of the Danish National Instrument Center for NMR Spectroscopy of Biological Macromolecules 800 MHz facility at Carlsberg Laboratory (1997-2007)
*Member of the Advisory Research Committee for the Danish Ministry of Food and Agriculture. (1998-2000)
*Member of the Board of Trustees of BRIC (Biotechnological Research and Innovation Center) appointed as personal member by the Minister of Research (2000- 2004)
*Member of the Industrial Committee of the Centre for Advanced Food Studies (2000-2007)
*Chairman of the Board of Directors of Combio A/S, (2000- 2004)
*Member of the Board of Trustees of the Carlsberg Bequest to the Memory of Brewer J.C. Jacobsen, (2001-2014)
*Member of the Board of Directors of VersaMatrix A/S, (sept. 2002- 2007, since April 2005 chairman)
*Member of the Board of Directors of Alfred Jorgensen Laboratory, (sept. 2002-2003)
*Member of the Board of Directors of the iNANO Center at Aarhus University, (june 2003-jan. 2004)
*Chairman of the Danish National Research Foundation (2004-2012)
*Member of the Danish Research Coordination Committee, chairman from 2007 (2004-2010)
*Member of the Board of Directors of Center for Microbial Biotechnology, DTU (2004-2013.
*Member, vice chairman of The Danish National Research Foundation for Advanced Technology, (2005-2013)
*Member of the Board of Directors AQ