Call for nominations for the ABEL Prize 2016#

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters hereby calls for nominations of candidates for the Abel Prize 2016.#

Nomination Guidelines and Online Nomination Form#


The right to nominate is open to anyone. Nominations are confidential and a nomination should not be made known to the nominee. Self-nominations are not acceptable. The prize can be awarded to a single person or shared for closely related fundamental contributions. Deceased persons cannot be nominated. If an Abel Laureate passes away before receiving the prize, then the prize will be awarded post mortem.

The nomination letter should contain a CV and a description of the candidate’s works, together with names of specialists who may be contacted. The letter of nomination should be mailed to:

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
NO-0271 Oslo

The nomination letter should be postmarked no later than September 15th to be considered a nomination for the Abel Prize the following year.

It is also possible to nominate candidates for the Abel Prize using the online nomination form

The Abel Committee

The Abel Committee recommends the candidate for the Abel Prize, and submits its recommendation to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters which selects the Abel Laureate on the basis of the recommendation from the committee.

Announcement of the Abel Laureate

The name of the Abel Laureate will be announced in late March.

About the Abel Prize#

The Abel Prize recognizes outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis and scientific computing, statistics, and also applications of mathematics in the sciences.

The prize is meant to recognize contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences. Such work may have resolved fundamental problems, created powerful new techniques, introduced unifying principles or opened up major new fields of research. The intent is to award prizes over the course of time in a broad range of fields within the mathematical sciences.

The Abel Prize amounts to NOK 6 million (approximately EUR 800,000 or USD 1 million)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-4) was last updated on Thursday, 15. October 2015, 13:17 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by