Alan Ferscht
Sir Alan Fersht MAE FMedSci FRS

Copley Medal 2020 awarded to Sir Alan Fersht MAE#

The Copley Medal 2020 is awarded to Sir Alan Fersht MAE. He has developed and applied the methods of protein engineering to provide descriptions of protein folding pathways at atomic resolution, revolutionising our understanding of these processes.

Academia Europaea congratulates Prof. Fersht to this distinction! #

Godfrey Copley FRS

The award#

The Copley Medal is the Society’s oldest and most prestigious award. The medal is awarded for outstanding achievements in research in any branch of science.

First awarded in 1731 following donations from Godfrey Copley FRS, it was initially awarded for the most important scientific discovery or for the greatest contribution made by experiment. The Copley Medal is thought to be the world's oldest scientific prize and it was awarded 170 years before the first Nobel Prize. Notable winners include Benjamin Franklin, Dorothy Hodgkin, Albert Einstein and Charles Darwin. The medal is of silver gilt, is awarded annually, alternating between the physical and biological sciences (odd and even years respectively), and is accompanied by a a gift of £25,000.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-6) was last changed on Monday, 4. January 2021, 12:40 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by