[{Image src='young_academy.jpg' caption='' height='150' alt='' class='image_left'}]
!!André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy 2021\\Call for nominations
__Deadline: 15 March 2021__\\
\\ \\
The Young Academy of Europe Prize is awarded annually to an early to mid-career professional
in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions to key areas of the YAE. In
2019, the YAE Prize was named “__André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy__” in honor
of the late YAE Founding Chair, André Mischke. The prize is awarded to support and promote:
science, evidence-based policy making, science communication , and future generation scientists
and scholars in Europe.

!2021 edition

Currently, the search committee is looking for nominations for the 2021 award. Nominations
should be sent to [yae-prize@yacadeuro.org|mailto:yae-prize@yacadeuro.org] __by 1 March 2021 at the latest__, and should include __a short CV__ (max. 2 pages) accompanied by __a short statement__ (max. 1 page) describing key
activities and providing evidence of relevant accomplishments for which the candidate is nominated

!Selection criteria and procedure

The __André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy__ honours outstanding contributions and
achievements that align with the core mission of the YAE. It is awarded on recommendation of
the YAE Board and the YAE Prize Search Committee (see below). The YAE prize (EUR 1 000,
contingent on sufficient available funds) will be officially awarded at the Annual Meeting of the


#Candidates should be early-to mid career academics or professionals (e.g., max 15 years after obtained PhD) of any nationality, but who are working/have worked in Europe, or abroad at a European Institution.
#The candidate is neither a YAE member nor a YAE alumna/alumnus.
#Self-nominations are not accepted.

!General criteria for the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy

Candidates will have demonstrated at least one of the following
*Important contributions to European science policy, by actively reaching out and engaging with policy makers in an attempt to influence science policy and contribute to the development of a European science agenda for the coming decades
*Important contributions to evidence-based policy at the national or European level
*Important contributions to science communication and citizen science, especially facilitating communication between scientists and scholars with the general public in Europe, with an emphasis on societal issues, quality of life and standards of living in Europe
*Important contributions to strengthening the solidarity and networking amongst exceptional young researchers and scholars in Europe in order to create a pool of information, pass on experience, give feedback, and provide active support to colleagues across Europe and future generations of leading scientists


*The awardee of the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy will be invited to give the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy Lecture at the YAE Annual meeting following the award.
*The awardee will receive a cash prize of EUR 1 000.

!Procedure for identifying candidate to receive the award

*All members of the YAE, European National Young Academies, Academia Europaea and other European (scientific) organizations are invited to nominate an outstanding candidate for the YAE prize. Self-nominations are not accepted.
*Nominations must provide the following:
**Summary of key achievements (1 Page)
**Short CV (max 2 pages)
*The closing date for nomination for the 2021 edition is March 1, 2021.
*The YAE Prize Search Committee will evaluate nominations and obtain references if needed, and prepare a shortlist. The Awardee will be selected by a vote of the currently elected Board of the YAE from this shortlist.
*Second and third placed nominations will be kept for the next year's edition.

!YAE Prize Search Committee

The search committee for the __André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy__ has two representatives
for each of the three domains (Life Sciences; Physical Sciences and in Engineering;
Social Sciences and Humanities) and includes the YAE Chair and the Chair of the YAE Advisory

!Representatives Life Sciences

Arild Husby\\ 
Leif Schroeder

!Representatives Physical Sciences and in Engineering

[Nicole Grobert|Member/Grobert_Nicole] MAE\\
[Marcel Swart|Member/Swart_Marcel] MAE

!Representatives Social Sciences and Humanities

[Genoveva Martí|Member/Marti_Genoveva] MAE\\
[Jörg Peltzer|Member/Peltzer_Jörg] MAE

!Advisory members

Anna von der Heydt\\
[Alban Kellerbauer|Member/Kellerbauer_Alban] MAE\\
Gemma Modinos
\\ \\
[{Image src='YAE.jpg' caption='' height='90' alt='YAE' class='image_left'}] Download the [call for nominations|AndreMischkeYAE_Prize_2021.pdf]\\[https://yacadeuro.org]