Breaking news#

2021 Nobel Prize in Physics goes to three members of Academia Europaea#

The membership of the AE is delighted to congratulate our longstanding members Professor Syukuro Manabe, who was elected to the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section in 1994, Professor Klaus Hasselmann, one of the founding members of the Academy and member since 1988, elected to the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section, and Professor Giorgio Parisi who was elected to the Physics and Engineering Sciences section in 2009.

The Nobel Prize 2021 was awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences “for ground-breaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems”.

Professor Paolo Papale, the Chair of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section writes:

"Prof. Syukuro Manabe and Prof. Klaus Hasselmann, both members of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section of the Academia Europaea, are co-winners of the Nobel Prize in physics for their “physical modelling of the Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming.

The Academia Europaea expresses its most sincere congratulations to them, for such an achievement crowning extraordinary brilliant careers in science."

Professor Pavel Exner, the Chair of the Physics and Engineering Sciences section writes:

"The AE Physics & Engineering Section is proud that its member, Professor Giorgio Parisi, was awarded today the Nobel Prize for Physics. The citation says that he was honoured "for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales". This brief description included a number of brilliant results in quantum field theory, statistical mechanics and dynamics complex systems concerning, for instance, QCD evolution equations for parton densities known by the names of Altarelli and Parisi, the exact solution of the Sherrington–Kirkpatrick model of spin glasses, or the Kardar–Parisi–Zhang equation describing dynamic scaling of growing interfaces. He also managed to explain effects both common and unusual, such as the whirling behaviour of starling flocks. Our sincere congratulations, Giorgio!"

This is the second time in two years that Academy members were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics: Roger Penrose and Reinhard Genzel in 2020, Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi in 2021.

Nobel Prize committee press release

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-10) was last changed on Friday, 15. October 2021, 09:16 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by