Hungarian Corvin Chain awarded to Katalin Karikó and Ferenc Krausz#

On 18th of June, 2024, Tamás Sulyok, President of the Hungarian Republic, conferred the Hungarian Corvin Chain to the two Nobel Prize Laureates Professor Katalin Karikó and Professor Ferenc Krausz in recognition of their significant and outstanding scientific achievements. This honour is bestowed on the most outstanding Hungarian scientists.

Katalin Karikó, member of the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology section, received the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. Ferenc Krausz, member of the Physics and Engineering Sciences section, was awarded the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Katalin Karikó
Professor Katalin Karikó

Professor Ferenc Krausz
Professor Ferenc Krausz

About the award#

The Hungarian Corvin Chain is the second highest Hungarian state decoration, after the Hungarian Order of Saint Stephen, and is awarded to persons who have made an outstanding contribution to Hungarian science, literature and art, and to the promotion of Hungarian culture. The number of recipients of the Corvin Chain may not exceed fifteen at any one time.

Among the previous recipients of the Corvin Chain are the following members of Academia Europaea:

  • 2012 Zsolt Bor (Physics and Engineering Sciences section)
  • 2001 László Lovász (Mathematics section), former Academic Director of the Academia Europaea Budapest Knowledge Hub

Press statement by Hungary Today
Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-3) was last changed on Friday, 21. June 2024, 08:49 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by