[{Image src='Burgen_Arnold.jpg' caption='Arnold Burgen, the first president of Academia Europaea' height='250' alt='Arnold Burgen' class='image_right'}]
!!The Academia Europaea Burgen Scholarships 
!The __Burgen Scholarships__ were established in honour of the founding President of the Academia Europaea [Arnold Burgen|Member/Burgen_Arnold].
The Burgen Scholarships provide recognition to younger European scholars, at the post-doctoral level, who are emerging talents and
possible potential future leaders in their fields. Recipients usually do not yet have an established position.
\\ \\
The nomination of candidates is a task that is given to the members of the Academia
resident in the country that is hosting the annual meeting.
\\ \\
Up to ten scholars are identified for the award each year by the local organising group for the annual conference. The awards cover the costs of attendance and participation in the Annual Conference (travel, accommodation and registration fees) and book prizes, poster presentations and certificate. 
\\ \\
The Burgen Scholarship award is marked by a citation and presentation of a certificate to the successful candidates, and a non monetary prize.
\\ \\
The local committee of Academia members, who are responsible for the organisation of the Annual Conference, make the final selection of the list of Burgen scholars from amongst those nominated by their fellow national members of the Academia Europaea.
\\ \\
*[2010 Burgen scholars|Acad_Main/Burgen_Scholars_2010] 

*[2011 Burgen scholars - Paris|Acad_Main/Burgen_Scholars_2011]

*[2012 Burgen scholars - Bergen|Acad_Main/Burgen_Scholars_2012]

*[2013 Burgen scholars - Wroclaw|Acad_Main/Burgen_Scholars_2013]

*[2014 Burgen scholars - Barcelona|Acad_Main/Burgen_Scholars_2014]

*[2015 Burgen scholars - Darmstadt|Acad_Main/Burgen_Scholars_2015]

*[2016 Burgen scholars - Cardiff|Acad_Main/Burgen_Scholars_2016]

*[2017 Burgen scholars - Budapest|Acad_Main/Burgen_Scholars_2017]