# CURRICULUM VITAE FOR ANDERS BJÖRKLUND

Born on July 11, 1945 in Söderhamn, Sweden.

Current position: Professor of histology, Wallenberg Neurocentrum, Lund University, Sweden

#### A. Education:

1964-1966 Bachelor of Medicine at the University of Lund 1966-1967 Preclinical training in pharmacology, microbiology and pathology 1969

Doctor of Medicine (Medical Sciences), PhD in histology

1970 Docent of histology at the University of Lund

### **B.** Appointments:

At the University of Lund, Lund, Sweden:

1966-69 Assistant teacher 1969-71 Research associate 1971-72 Docent

1973-83 Associate Prof. of Histology 1983-Professor of Histology

Section Chief at Wallenberg Neuroscience Center, Lund University 1996-

April 1985 Visiting Professor at the College de France, Paris

1989-90 Newton-Abraham Visiting Professor at the University of Oxford, England

#### **C.** Commission of trust:

- Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences since 1989, Chairman of the Medical Class 1995-2000.
- President of the European Neuroscience Association 1996–1998
- Chief editor of the Handbook of Chemical Neuroanatomy Series of Elsevier Biomedical Press since 1981 (together with Tomas Hökfelt)
- Panel Member of The Wellcome Trust (Neuroscience), London, 2002-2005
- Chairman of the Neuroscience Panel at the European Research Council, Brussels, since 2007

#### **D.** Scientific publications:

About 500 publications in the fields of neuroanatomy, neuronal regeneration, cell transplantation, gene transfer and repair in the central nervous system.

### E. Honors, Lectureships and Awards:

- The Wakeman Award from Duke University, NC, USA, 1984 (with Lars Olson and Ulf Stenevi)
- Brooks Lecturer at the Harvard Medical School, November 1986
- Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Turin, Italy 1987
- Presidential Lecturer, Society for Neuroscience annual meeting, Toronto, 1988
- Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Copenhagen, Denmark 1989
- Master of Science, University of Oxford, 1989
- The Zulch Prize from the Max-Planck Society, Germany, 1990 (with Lars Olson)
- The Göran Gustafsson Prize and Award from the Swedish Academy of Sciences, 1990
- The IPSEN Prize in Neuronal Plasticity from the IPSEN Foundation, Paris, 1990 (with Albert Aguayo and Fred H. Gage)
- The Charles A. Dana Award from the Dana Foundation, New York, 1992 (with Fred H. Gage)
- The International Cajal Award from the Cajal Institute, Madrid, Spain, 1991
- The Jubilee Medal Prize from the Swedish Society for Medicine, Stockholm, 1993
- The Koester Memorial Lectureship and Award, University of Zürich, Switzerland, 1995
- The Anders Jahre Prize for Medical Research from Oslo University, Norway, 1995 (with Lars Olson)
- The Stanley Fahn Lecturer, Movement Disorders Society meeting, New York, 1998
- The Söderberg Prize for Medical Research from the Swedish Society for Medicine, Stockholm, 2000 (with Olle Lindvall)

- The Van Wagenen Lecture, American Association for Neurological Surgeons Annual meeting, Orlando Fla. May 2004
- The Charles Sherrington Lecture, University of Liverpool, Nov 23, 2004
- The Ragnar Granit Lecture in Neuroscience, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Nov. 25, 2004
- The Wendell JS Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award from the Cajal Club, June 2006
- Lundbeck Foundation Nordic Award for Outstanding Research, Copenhagen, March 2007
- The Sven Berggren Prize from the Royal Physiographic Society, Lund, October 2008
- The Van Wagenen Lecture, American Association for Neurological Surgeons Annual Meeting, San Diego, May 2009
- The Robert A Pritzker Prize from the Michael J Fox Foundation, June 2011
- The Eric K Fernstrom Nordic Prize from Lund University, November 2011.

### F. Entrepreneurial achievements:

Founding scientist and member of the executive board of NsGene A/S, Ballerup, Denmark

### G. Theses of graduate students examined under my main supervision:

- 1. Ulf Stenevi (1973) (Chief of clinic at the Dept of Ophthalmology, Göteborg University)
- 2. Anders Nobin (1973) (Docent Surgery; diseased 1987)
- 3. Hans-Georg Baumgarten (1973) (Professor of Anatomy, Freie Universität, Berlin; now retired)
- 4. Olle Lindvall (1974) (Professor of Neurology, Lund University Hospital)
- 5. Bo Bjerre (1974) (Practising physician, Borlänge, Sweden)
- 6. Niels-Aage Svendgard (1975) (Professor of Neurosurgery, Karolinska Hospital, retired 1999)
- 7. Kjeld Mollgard (1979) (Professor of Anatomy, Copenhagen University; Rector of Copenhagen University 1995-2001)
- 8. Leif Wiklund (1979) (Överläkare, Dept of Clinical Genetics, Uppsala University)
- 9. Ingemar Lorén (1981) (Överläkare, Dept of Radiology, Malmö University Hospital)
- 10. Gunnar Skagerberg (1984) (Neurosurgeon, Lund University Hospital)
- 11. Ole Isacson (1987) (Professor, Harvard Medical School, Boston)
- 12. Patrik Brundin (1988) (Professor, Wallenberg Neuroscience Center, Lund University)
- 13. Peter Kalén (1988) (Hand Surgeon, Malmö University Hospital)
- 14. Klas Wictorin (1990) (Docent, Neurologist, Lund University Hospital)
- 15. Ola G. Nilsson (1990) (Neurosurgeon, Lund University Hospital)
- 16. Walter Fischer (1991) (Neurosurgeon, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, Denmark)
- 17. Angela Cenci-Nilsson (1993) (Professor, Lund University)
- 18. Guido Nikkhah (1994) (Professor of Neurosurgery, University of Freiburg, Germany)
- 19. Kenneth Campbell (1994) (Professor, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati)
- 20. Hansjörg Sauer (1995) (Senior scientist, Guildford Pharmaceuticals, Baltimore)
- 21. Cecilia Lundberg (1996) Professor, Wallenberg Neuroscience Center, Lund University)
- 22. Giampiero Leanza (1996) (Associate professor, University of Trieste, Italy)
- 23. Martin Olsson (1997) (Child neurologist, Lund University Hospital)
- 24. Carl Rosenblad (1999) (Senior scientist, NsGene A/S, Copenhagen; Neurologist in training, Lund)
- 25. Denz Kirik (2001) (Professor, Wallenberg Neuroscience Center, Lund University)
- 26. Christian Winkler (2002) (Chief Neurologist, University of Hannover, Germany)
- 27. Ulrica Englund (2002) (Postdoc, Lund University, Lund; Joint supervision with K. Wictorin)
- 27. Malin Parmar (2003) (Assistant professor, Wallenberg Neuroscience Center, Lund)
- 28. Biljana Georgievska (2004) (Researcher, AstraZeneca, Södertälje)
- 29. Elin Andersson (2005)
- 30. Thomas Carlsson (2007) (Postdoc, University of Marburg, Germany)
- 31. Josephine Hebsgaard (2008) (Research scientist, Novo Nordisk A/S, Köpenhamn)
- 32. Marie Jönsson (2009) (Starting postdoc position in Sydney, Australia 2010)

## H. Postdoctoral visitors:

A total of about 30 postdoctoral scientists have worked in my lab over the years. Some have developed into recognized leaders in their fields, such as Prof Fred H Gage (Salk Institute, La Jolla, USA) and Stephen B Dunnett (Cardiff University, UK).