

## Election of a President (2014) - Notice

- 1. In accordance with the Articles of Association of the Academia Europaea Ltd and the Regulations of 2009:
- 2. Notice is hereby given of a ballot of the membership of the Academia Europaea for the election of and appointment to the position of President. A call for nominations as candidate<sup>1</sup>, shall be published to members in 2013. The ballot shall take place in 2014. The incoming President shall be installed at the conclusion of the normal business of the AGM of 2014 and shall serve for a term of 3 years, as proscribed in the Regulations.
- 3. At their meeting on 29 April, 2013: the Trustees agreed to recommend to the Council of the Academia Europaea a mandate (annex 1) for the establishment of a search group to oversee the election process, as set out in the Regulations. Council have adopted the proposal.
- 4. The Trustees further decided: that for the election of a President, the franchise shall be extended to include all eligible<sup>2</sup> members, irrespective of any personal attendance at the AGM of 2014. Therefore and in order to expedite this decision, an electronic ballot of members shall be held. The specification for the ballot shall be organised by the search group and the ballot shall take place in late Spring of 2014.

## Annex 1 – composition and mandate of the search group

• The group shall be composed of not less than 6 and not more than 7 members.

The Board have proposed and the Council have agreed to the following:

Professor Pieter Emmer (Chair of the History Section, member of Council and Trustee)

Professor Cinzia Ferrini (Independent member of Council and Trustee)

Professor Andreu Mas-Colell (Trustee)

Professor Jürgen Mittelstrass (former President of the Academia Europaea)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Eligibility as a candidate and [draft] criteria are in annex 2

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Eligibility to vote shall be as set out in the Regulations and additional criteria by the Trustees

Professor Don Dingwell (Chair of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences Section)

Professor Lars Walløe (Current President)

- Terms of reference:
  - a. The search group shall oversee the search process for candidates and the ballot process: including;
    - agree the criteria for candidates and the terms and duration of the call period.
    - Scrutiny of candidates and if necessary propose any additional candidates to so as to ensure a balanced list.
    - Arrange the ballot and ensure probity and fairness.
    - b. The group shall report the outcome of the ballot to the Board of Trustees.

Annex 2 – Eligibility and Criteria for candidates

## a. Eligibility criteria

**Ordinary members only** are eligible to stand as candidates (see Regulations Section 6, para. 1 and other sections therein)

The Trustees have decided to place an upper age limit of 72 years of age (at the time of election) for candidates

Candidates must be resident in Europe at the time of the election and for the duration of their term.

Candidates must demonstrate a record of active engagement in the affairs of the Academia Europaea

Candidates must be willing and able to lead the Academia Europaea and play a full and active role in the promotion, representation, management and activities of the Academy and of its regional Hubs.

Excellent command of written and spoken English are expected.

## b. Personal qualities

Outstanding intellectual profile and significant record of achievements in scholarship and leadership

Extensive international networks, both academic and non-academic

Significant managerial, operational and financing (including fundraising) experience, preferably with a strong international dimension

Strong transdisciplinary bias and cross generational dialogue capacities

A clear vision for a Presidential term

Executive Secretary May 2013