Angel Rubio#

Angel Rubio
Email:angel.rubio 'at'
Membership Number:4185
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GERMANY

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2016 - present Professor , University of Hamburg
  • 2015 - present Faculty member of the Wolfgang Pauli Centre, Hamburg
  • July 2014 - present Scientific Member and Director of the Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter in Hamburg
  • Since Dec-2014 Distinguish Professor: Condensed Matter Physics Dpt. Física de Materiales, UPV/EHU, San Sebastián, Spain
  • 2009 - 2011 Max-Planck Distinguished Visiting Scientist, Fritz Haber Institute MPG Berlin
  • August - September 2014 Miller Visiting Professor, University of California at Berkeley
  • April 2001 - Dec.2014 Full Professor of Condensed Matter Physics (chair), UPV/EHU
  • Since 2002 Director of Nano-bio Spectroscopy group of the UPV/EHU
  • 2007 Professor (1ere class), Universidad de Montpellier 2, Francia
  • 2005/2006 Professor (Humboldt), Freie Universitat Berlin
  • Professor, Laboratoire des Solides Irradié, Ecole Polytechnique, France.
  • Dec.2000 - Apr.2001 Associate Professor, Dpt. Física Teórica, Atomica y Nuclear, Universidad Valladolid,1994-2001
  • 1992 - 1994 Fulbright Fellow, Department of Physics, University of California at Berkeley, USA

Fields of Scholarship
  • Theory and modelling of electronic and structural properties in condensed matter
  • Development of novel theoretical tools and computational codes to investigate the electronic response of solids and nanostructures to external electromagnetic fields
  • New developments within many-body theory and TDDFT, including ab-initio description of electron excitations, optical spectroscopy, time-resolved spectroscopies, STM/STS, XAFS and lifetimes, novel techniques to calculate total energies and assessment and development of exchange-correlation functionals for TDDFT calculations; improvements on transport theory within the real-time TDDFT formalism; characterization of the electronic and optical properties of solids, nanostructures (in particular nanotubes, nanowires and semiconducting clusters) and biomolecules
  • Foundations of time-dependent density functional theory
  • Foundations of Many-Body Theory
  • Extended systems: solids, liquids, Applications (e. g. photovoltaics)
  • Theory of Open quantum systems. Strong light-matter interactions and Optimal control Theory
  • Theoretical spectroscopy: photoemission, time-resolved optical and magnetic spectroscopies,
  • Biotechnology and hybrid materials: photovoltaic applications
  • Nanostructures and nanotubes
  • Nanocapilarity
  • Nanoplasmonics
  • Electronic and thermal transport
  • Code development

Honours and Awards
  • Medal of the Spanish Royal Physical Society, Madrid, December 2016
  • Member of the Academia Europaea (2016)
  • European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant (2016-2021) (QSpec-NewMat)
  • JSPS Invitation Fellowship for Research in Japan, 2016
  • XV Manuel Laborde Werlinden Prize for the best technology-based business initiative based on innovative ideas: "Materials Evolution", December 2015
  • Premio Jaime I de Investigación Básica 2014.
  • Foreign associate member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) of United States (2014)
  • External Scientific Member of the Fritz-Haber-Institut-Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, (Nov. 2011-)
  • European Research Council “ERC Advanced Grant” (2011-2016) (DYNamo)
  • Fellow of the American Association for Advanced Science (AAAS) (Physics Section) (2010)
  • Dupont Prize in Nanotechnology, Dupont Foundation (2006)
  • Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award, Humboldt Foundation (2005)
  • Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), Division of Materials Science (2004)
  • Spanish Royal Physical Society Prize “Jóvenes Investigadores” Madrid. Spain. July, 1992
  • Honor Prize for the best Ph.D. Thesis in Physics University of Valladolid. Spain. June, 1992.
  • 1st National Prize for Graduated in Physics October 25, 1989
  • American Chemical Society (ACS) recognition (2011) and Outstanding Referee, American Physical Society (2009)
  • Fulbright Fellow, 1992-94
  • Chair of the European Theoretical Spectroscopy Facility (ETSF) (2012-2013) and Vice-President for Scientific Development (2008-)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last updated on Tuesday, 14. March 2017, 22:27 by Rubio Angel
  • operated by